Been thinking about.

Lately I’ve been thinking about breast cancer. In part because a very dear friend of mine was recently diagnosed.  Her diagnosis rocked not only her world, but mine as well.

In part also because I am confronted with it every day, especially this month. October is Breast Cancer Awareness month.

I am fully aware of Breast cancer. I’m aware of it’s ugliness.  I am aware that 1 out of 8 women in the United States will develop breast cancer in her life time.  I am aware that over 200,000 women will be diagnosed with the dreaded disease in 2010. I am aware that almost 2,000 men in the United States will be diagnosed with invasive breast cancer in 2010. Aside from lung cancer, breast cancer will kill more women this year than any other cancer.  An estimated 40,000 women will die this year from breast cancer. More than 1 in 4 cancers in women is breast cancer. Seventy to eighty percent of breast cancer diagnoses are in women without a family history of breast cancer, only 20-30% of women have a first-degree family member with the diagnosis.  The two most significant risk factors are being a women and age.

It is being confronted every where during the month of October that makes me aware of Breast cancer. It is reading statistics like above that make me aware of breast cancer.

Posting in a facebook status the color of your bra on any given day does not make me think of breast cancer. It makes me think about your underwear. Posting on facebook a status that starts with “I like it on….” with a location does not make me think about where you like to keep your purse.

If your intent is to make people more aware of breast cancer, which I am all for, post statistics. Be bold and blunt, don’t hide behind some junior high game, designed to exclude those who are not a part of the inner circle.   If you want to raise awareness of breast cancer and if you want to push to see a cure, then post about breast cancer.  But please do so in a  way that makes no one wonder, in a way that no one has to ask what in the world you’re talking about.  Shouldn’t raising awareness of breast cancer make us think about breast cancer?

What was your first thought when you saw someone’s “I like it on the….” status? I’ll guarantee it wasn’t breast cancer.

Leave a Reply

