The House On Malcolm Street Review

I received The House on Malcolm Street by Leisha Kelly from Revell Publishers for the purpose of reviewing it. When I read the synopsis of the book, I thought I would really enjoy it. I was sadly disappointed.

The main character, Leah, is a little two whiny for me. In the beginning of the book you learn that her son and husband had both recently passed away after an illness. I know that would make anyone whiny, but I think she was a bit over the top.

I found a few grammatical errors and typos.

I skip ahead in the book to see if Leah’s attitude ever improved and I can’t see that it did. I confess, I was not able to read the entire book, it depressed me.

I will also admit, that I could pick this book up next month and wonder what my problem with it. was. So really you should pick up the book and read it for yourself!

Here is what the back of the book says,

When tragedy steals her future, can Leah learn to trust again?

It is the autumn of 1920, and Leah Breckenridge is desperate to find a way to provide for her young daughter. After losing her husband and infant son, she is angry at God and fearful about the days ahead. Finding refuge in a boardinghouse run by her late husband’s aunt. Leah begins the slow process of mending her heart.

Is it the people who surround her-or perhaps this very house-that reach into her heart with healing? As Leah finds peace tending to an abandoned garden, can she find a way to trust God with her future?

I would give this book 2 turning pages.

2 thoughts on “The House On Malcolm Street Review

  1. Nice review!

    I thought that The House on Malcolm Street was an interesting, but heavy read. I have read several books by Leisha Kelly and enjoyed Julia’s Hope, Emma’s Gift and Katie’s Dream.

    The House on Malcolm Street was not a light hearted story. The issues it deals with are heavy and make for a daunting read sometimes. Does it have a lot of meaning packed into one novel? Yes, it is likely one you won’t forget about, but it’s kind of a rainy day book, if you know what I mean.

    I have also written a more in-depth review on my own site:
    http://www.tracysbooknook.com.

    -Tracy

Leave a Reply

