It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year

I don’t normally love the Autumn season like some do. It’s okay but Autumn is really much, much too dreary for my taste. I like bright sunshiny days, and generally I get them. But Autumn (and winter) seems to have more dreary, cloudy, want-to-hide-in-bed-all-day-days. Oh man, that sounds like I’m depressing…err depressed. I’m not. I’m a go-er.  Staying bed, even when ill, is very difficult for me.

The best part of Autumn, in my estimation at least, is apples. I love apples. When we lived in St. Louis (well not in-in St. Louis but nearby), I loved to go to the apple orchards and get boxes of apples. One Saturday a friend and I spent the entire day making apple pies. It was heavenly.

And I haven’t been able to make a decent pie since.

Out of desperation, because you know you can only eat so many apples raw, I tried something a few years ago. And it worked!  I called it “Baked Apple DEE-Vine”.

Because that’s what it is.

 

First you start with apples...good ones preferably.

 

I used gala apples, because that is what I had.  You wash, (not even going to go into how many contaminants are on the skin of the apple), cut into fourths, core and slice the apples. You can peel if you want, I don’t. Preheat your oven to 350 and melt 1/2 -1 tablespoon of butter.

 

Ahhh melting butter

 

While your oven preheats and your butter melts, slice your apples. When your butter is melted, layer your sliced apples and sprinkle each layer with cinnamon and drizzle with honey.

 

Lots of honey and cinnamon

 

 

All ready for the oven

 

I cover the pan with foil, and bake for 12 minutes, stir and bake for an additional 5 minutes.

 

All ready to be shoved into my gullet

 

Plate and eat. If you have some whipped topping, that is really good too. But I like them fresh from the oven.

 

She gives it a thumbs up!

 

She does too.

 

 

She gives it another thumbs up.

 

She’s too busy eating to say, but she loves them plain too.

One thought on “It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year

Leave a Reply

