Unlocked {Book Review}

Six years ago I wrote this on my blog,

Today I had the privilege of looking at life through another Mom’s perspective. I came away a bit more content with my life.

A Mom at church I know by sight and not by name, sad I know but true. Today I was standing with Elizabeth near where she was sitting. She asked Elizabeth, “How old are you?”

Elizabeth proudly answered “Two”

The mom looked at me and said, “She always talks so well.”

That is not a statement I’ve not heard a few million times before, so I give my standard answer, “Yeah. She talks all the time.”

This mom looks at me and says, “I’d give anything to have a chatterbox.” She has a son in  Elizabeth’s class, and I’m thinking to myself, Well he’s a boy. He’ll catch up and be chattering your ear off and then you’ll remember this conversation and laugh. But she went on to say, “Patrick is autistic. I remember when he used to babble on and on, but now he doesn’t. He is starting to babble a bit more and I love it.”

She has never heard her son call her name, never heard him say I love you. I would venture a guess he’s never displayed I love you to her either.

And I sit back in my house with two chatterbox girlies and think, Oh I long for just one moment of peace and total quiet. I’m so tired of them talking to me, at me, near me. I long for them to BE QUIET!!!

And she longs for the sound of his voice, the feel of his arms around her neck, his sweet breath a whisper on her neck as he whispers, “Mommy, I love you best of all!”

So go hug your kids and say Thank you Jesus for these children. May You make me worthy of them. Thank You for their chatter.

And pray for this Mommy, that she too will know the feeling of longing for quiet. She would know the feel of little arms around her neck and kisses freely bestowed on her cheek.

I just finished reading  Unlocked by Karen Kingsbury. I have to be honest, this is only the second book by Karen Kingsbury I have been able to read all the way through. In fact, when it came I asked Mr. Full Cup what I had been smoking to request a book by her.  I know her books are popular and everyone things they are wonderful, I’ve just not ever been able to get into them.

So it was a small amount of trepidation that I read this one. The premise of the book deals with the issues of autism and bullying. Holden Harris started life as a normal child, but something happened when he was 3 that changed his life and the lives of those closest to him.

Holden was diagnosed with autism, noncommunicative.  Holden didn’t talk, didn’t look people in the eye. He would fold his hands under his chin and flap his arms, when something would upset him, he would drop and do push ups.

A girl in his school befriends Holden, and slowly Holden changes. I won’t say anything more about the book, I don’t want to spoil it for you.

I thought the book was a little too perfect; a little too predictable.  I know I’ve said before I don’t like to read about too much sin, I don’t want to read about people living in sin, but nor do I like to read about people who are too perfect. No one really has the Midas touch. We aren’t all good at everything.  People who are perfect, who never struggle with their faith, are people I can’t relate too.  This book had some of that.

This book was also very predictable.  I knew how it would end from the second chapter. But it still made a very good read.

In the book, Holden’s friend, Ella, is in a high school performance of Beauty and the Beast. We’re all familiar with the Disney version of the story.  In the book, Beauty and the Beast, show a correlation between Holden, who was thought a beast and those who were thought to be beautiful, were really the beast.

I was confronted with my own beastliness. The book touched me and hopefully changed me.   And that makes a book good.

(I received a free copy of Unlocked by Karen Kingsbury from Zondervan  for review purposes.)

One thought on “Unlocked {Book Review}

  1. I’ve been a big fan of Karen Kingsbury for many years and I thoroughly enjoyed Unlocked.

    This is a stand-alone novel that I wish was part of a series – I enjoyed the characters so much I want more! The funny thing is that I usually complain about the way novels in series feel like unfinished books with too many loose ends. (shrug)

    Anyway, I just posted more of my thoughts on this book on my blog at http://www.tracysbooknook.com.

    -Tracy

Leave a Reply

