A Trail of Ink {Book Review}

Do you ever keep seeing something and keep rejecting it and then finally in exasperation you give up rejecting it and find it is the best thing you’ve ever done?

Yeah. Me too.

Such is the case with A Trail of Ink by Mel Starr. I honestly do not know how many times I was given the opportunity to read and review this book before I gave up and said, “OKAY! Just send it already.”  I am so glad I did!

The book is a mystery set in Medieval England. The sleuth, Hugh de Singleton, is a surgeon and Bailiff. What was very intriguing to me, and I’ve read a plethora of mysteries before, is the mystery is not about a murder.  Don’t get me wrong, there is a murder in the book, but that isn’t the mystery that brings you in. And I’m not saying what the mystery is…you’ll have to get the book and read it.

I honestly can’t possibly say enough good about this book. I read it in about 24 hours because I couldn’t put it down.  Mel Starr is a master storyteller and a master at medieval  history.  A Trail of Tears pulls you in and you find yourself shocked when it spits you out and you are in 21st Century America. I expected to see knights and horses, Dukes and Duchesses, long flowing robes and the English countryside.

I definitely look forward to reading more from Mel Starr.

One thought on “A Trail of Ink {Book Review}

Leave a Reply

