Bathsheba

Bathsheba is a somewhat controversial Biblical character. Some people think she laid in wait for King David, and others think she got the raw end of the deal.   I’m not sure which camp I would put myself in.

I read the Biblical fiction book, Bathsheba by Jill Eileen Smith while on a transatlantic flight. I enjoyed the book. There were times I was a little confused  as it seemed the author flip-flopped how Bathsheba felt about David. One minute in love with him and the other not. On some pages it seemed Mrs. Smith thought Bathsheba laid a trap for King David and other times that he laid the trap for her.

The book is very well written. Mrs. Smith wove a great story and often used quotes from the biblical narrative.  The story drove me to read it again in the Bible which is always a good thing.

Bathsheba longed for her husband to stay home from the wars and she longed for children. Neither of which were happening. Bathsheba was a woman who dearly loved her man and didn’t always understand the need he had for war.  In the book, Bathsheba and Davide meet before he saw her bathing, and neither one can get the other out of their mind.

There was only a few things I didn’t like about the book. The biggest was the first few chapters seemed to me a bit too “mushy”, it isn’t graphic mush, but mush all the same.

If you like biblical fiction you would love this book.

 

(I received this book free from Revell Publishers for the purpose of review.)

Leave a Reply

