Posted in Jesus, Life as it happens.

Rainy Days And Mondays


Yesterday was Monday, and it was a rainy Monday. I don’t mind a good rainstorm as long as it rains and moves on out. I don’t care much for the rain storms that come and stay. The rain that starts while you’re sleeping and continue on all day and most of the next night.  No, I could never live in Seattle or Ireland. I would go crazy. I need the sun.

So yesterday when I woke up to the sound of rain on the roof (which is an entirely different sound than a Cat on a Hot Tin Roof) and saw the forecast for more rain, I was a little blue. Or more Caucasian pink if you will. I was down.  Saturday was beautiful. Sunshine in abundance and I was happy. Ecstatic really. Then Monday hit.

I don’t have a favorite day of the week but I also don’t not like any of them either. I have no beef with Mondays….except when they’re grey and rainy.

So back to Rainy Days and Mondays, I woke up with that song in my head. I couldn’t help but post it to facebook. I thought it would help get it out of my head. (It didn’t). I thought watching the video on YouTube would help also. (It didn’t.) In fact, now on Tuesday, a day the sun came out at last (at least that is what I suspect the bright orange bulb glowing in the sky is) and the song is still in my head.

I hadn’t really heard the lyrics in a long while and when I last heard the song I didn’t pay that much attention to them. But yesterday I did. First of all, I talk to myself all. the. time. That’s the nice thing about having children, everyone thinks you’re talking to them. (except them..well unless you really are talking to them) I never knew the song started off with, “talking to myself and feeling old.”

How is it possible that Richard and Karen Carpenter ever met me? Did they have some cosmic crystal ball and could see me in 2011 waking with this song in my head and knew I would talk to myself and feel old? Yeah right, as if that were even possible.

Another line struck me, and it is a line I did a lot yesterday.  I ran and found  the One who loves me. Now I know this is probably a love song for someone with flesh on. But my God came to earth dressed in mortal flesh. And He loves me. So now when I sing this song, yes, okay I not only talk to myself I lip sync with YouTube pretending I’m Karen Carpenter, I sing it to Him. Because He knows and loves me.

What better place to run on a rainy Monday? What better PERSON to run to when it might be a sunny Monday but inside it’s clouds, rain and a bucket full of gloom?

Author:

Child of the Most High God, Wife, Home-schooling Momma of 2. I love Jesus, people and coffee. I am the somewhat eternal optimist viewing the coffee cup as half nothing, it's full...even when I'm chewing the grounds at the bottom.

One thought on “Rainy Days And Mondays

  1. And after that fb post the song was in my head (and still is). 🙂 good way to look at it! I have good news, sun is shining and the sky is blue! 🙂 love your blog!

Leave a Reply

