Posted in Book Reviews

Horses, Horses.

My girls have gone horse crazy. If it has to do with horses they are all over it.  They have stuffed horses, plastic toy horses, and horse books. Ariana has read a book about how to care for horses, a book I would say “booorrrrinnnngggg” she has read a few times. If you want to know anything about horses, ask her. It’s probably in the book she read.

They also have, of course, other fiction books about horses. One they recently read was BackYard Horses by Dandi Daley Mackall. You will get to see and hear their reviews in a minute but first, you have to listen to me.

I LOVED this book!! The basic story is of a young girl who dreams of a horse of her own. She daydreams about horses all the time which as I’m sure you can imagine causes her some problems.  I’m not going to give the book away, but let me say this if you have a horse lover in your house they will love this book.

I really liked the titles of the chapters also spelled out in sign language. That was super. My girls have picked up a few signs and I would love to learn more.

I didn’t really like how the parents, especially the dad, was not portrayed as being incredibly intelligent. It wasn’t anything bad, I just think they could have been portrayed as normal parents not quite as dimwitted as they seemed.

I give the book 4.5 turning pages.

Now for the girls’ reviews.

 

I received a free copy of BackYard Horses by Dandi Daley Mackall from the publisher for the purpose of review.

Author:

Child of the Most High God, Wife, Home-schooling Momma of 2. I love Jesus, people and coffee. I am the somewhat eternal optimist viewing the coffee cup as half nothing, it's full...even when I'm chewing the grounds at the bottom.

One thought on “Horses, Horses.

  1. We love horses too! 🙂 If you’d ever like to bring the girls down for some “horsey time” we’d love to see you. They could help care for Murphy and ride if they wanted to. Murphy is a sweet horse, I think would probably really like him..

Leave a Reply

