Hoping for Hope

Hope is the illusive quality we all want and yet never seem to have. Well, this side of heaven we don’t. In Jesus we always have hope.

Lately I have really been faced with my own sinfulness. For sometime I’ve blamed it on one thing or another (hormones) but it comes down to I am a sinner. A sinner saved by grace to be sure. In my heart of hearts, I’ve lost hope that I will ever be the way I perceive others to be.

A few Scriptures though have become very rich to me during this time. Philippians 1:6 in my paraphrase reads, “He who began a good work in you will complete it!” The good work done in me was started May 12, 1982 and it won’t be complete, I won’t be perfect until the day Jesus returns for me.

Another one is in Timothy and again in my paraphrase reads, “But YOU, continue in the things you have learned and become convinced of…” There is hope in continuing to put one foot in front of the other in faith that Jesus will do His work of perfecting me.

I attended Women of Faith in Omaha this past August and I learned from Patsy Clarimont that “Life is messy”. I learned from Mandisa that I can “Say Goodby” to the way I used to be. But I learned from Amy Grant that it won’t happen Overnight. As much I would want it to, it will take some time.

And that, my friends, is hope.

One thought on “Hoping for Hope

  1. Pingback: Lead Me On…….but hide the important papers!: A personal story by the Wild Heart about Amy Grant « the wildheart

Leave a Reply

