Poo-poo-free

I’m as health conscience as the next guy…or maybe a bit more so, but on the other hand, that guy on the other side might be more health conscience than I am.

If anyone understood that sentence, please tell me what I just said.

I have mentioned here before that I don’t eat white flour, sugar or rice. I do on occasion make exception on the white rice. Mr. FullCup dearly loves a good Chinese restaurant and the ones around here do not serve any rice except fried or white. And even I know fried rice is really white rice.  I am not selfish enough to deny him his Sesame Chicken because I choose not to eat white rice. At one local Asian restaurant I have ordered the Triple Garlic and let me tell you, it is nothing short of wonderful. When I order that I just skip the rice altogether and we’re both happy as clams.  Usually I order combination/house fried rice no matter where I go. It’s a fairly safe bet that it will be good and I’ll like it.  And I get a lot more food than anyone would ever dream.

I am not quite sure how planning on talking about going shampoo free led to talking about white rice and my favorite Asian dishes but I am the queen of digression.

(excuse me, I just needed to inform my youngest child that she needed to do her own math. Not that she was doing anyone else’s math but she was attempting in vain to get her sister do it for her.)

We (and really when I say “we”, I mean “I”) have pretty much eliminated every food substance that isn’t really food. Margarine? Don’t even waste my time. Velveeta? American Singles Cheese? Haven’t looked back. We have decided if it has ingredients we can’t pronounce, it isn’t going in the house, much yet our gullets. If we read the ingredients and realize it is an alleged “food substance passed off as food”, we’re not buying it.

This led to me ponder other areas I could be a bit more health conscience. I started exercising. I run most mornings, at least 6-9 months of the year.  (The other months are just too cold.)

We do eat meat, hello! Mr. FullCup grew up on a farm, a pig farm no less. To deny him meat at least once a day (and bologna doesn’t count because guess what? It’s not real food!) would be a kin to knocking him off at the knees. He will humor me and go meatless every so often when I make a killer salad full of all things none meat. If I add tuna. And he’s not thrilled with seafood or fish. We’re beef eaters here.

Okay I have no earthly idea  where that came from nor where it’s going.

I started researching healthy ideas and found some that have quit using shampoo and conditioner. At first glance I was intrigued if not a little disgusted. “Go with shampoo? No conditioner? Are they nuts! Have they no idea what my hair looks like if I don’t shampoo it every day? It’s not pretty.”

And I read on. And on. And on.

Do you remember the 1970s shampoo commercials? “Gentle enough to use every day?” I do. Do you know previous to the 1970s people didn’t wash their hair every day?

Shocking isn’t it.

Care to guess who started telling Americans it was not only needed but a necessity to shampoo their hair every day?

The shampoo manufacturers. Oh yeah and it just happened to also pad their pocket.

So I’m changing our shampooing ways. This morning is the first morning of no shampooing. I used a mixture of baking soda and water for cleaning my scalp and I used apple cider vinegar for conditioning.

I am fully expecting the oil glands in my scalp to go haywire and overproduce, but so far I haven’t had any of that. My hair looks and feels soft and very manageable. The picture at the beginning was just taken this morning.

3 thoughts on “Poo-poo-free

  1. I’ve heard of people using the baking powder and apple cider vinegar on their hair. You should do an update in a week or two on how your hair looks/feels and if it stays pretty manageable over time. 🙂

  2. i’m with you. A few months ago, i stopped using shampoo and conditioner also. i use my own homemade soap for the washing part and i make a conditioner with fresh rosemary steeped in hot water over night then add a splash of cider vinegar. My hair looks and feel great!

  3. Pingback: Look Ma, No POO! « My full cup

Leave a Reply

