Posted in Jesus, Life as it happens.

More than I can bear

I’ve really been contemplating the whole issue of “God won’t give you more than handle”.  We find a similar phrase in 1 Corinthians 10:13 which in the NIV reads “No temptation has seized you except what is common to man. And God is faithful; He will not allow you to be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted, He will also provide a way out so that you can stand up against it.”

Interesting. We are not promised a life phase, a life situation that is more than we can bear. We are promised in the face of temptation that God won’t “set us up for failure” by not giving us a way out of the temptation.

My friend, Brenda, has heard this phrase until she can’t bear to hear it anymore. Last spring Brenda’s husband was given a bill of excellent health. A month or so later he was is the hospital dying. Three weeks later he was gone. And people tell her “God won’t give you more than you can bear.” And Brenda says, “THIS is more than I can bear! I don’t want to bear this!”

We have had a difficult time adjusting to life with a foreign exchange student and people tell me “God won’t give you more than you can handle.” I have heard that so much I’ve responded, “The next person to tell me that will be punched in the face.” It is neither biblical nor true.

The beauty of Christianity is we realize we can’t do life on our own. We know that life is more than we can bear. But more than that we find Someone who is willing to bear it for us.

We have a Savior who says, “Honey, this rough spot is for your good. I will make sure you get through it. You have a choice, you can go through it with me or you can choose to shut me out and go it alone. Either way I’m here.”

No one can bear life a lone. No one. We aren’t islands. We aren’t rocks. We need. We need Jesus.

 

Author:

Child of the Most High God, Wife, Home-schooling Momma of 2. I love Jesus, people and coffee. I am the somewhat eternal optimist viewing the coffee cup as half nothing, it's full...even when I'm chewing the grounds at the bottom.

6 thoughts on “More than I can bear

  1. I hate that phrase because it isn’t true. If he never gave us more than we could handle, then why do we need him??? duh. 😛

  2. I really loved this! When we lost Aiden over a year ago so many people told us that. It got very aggravating! I was like Brenda. I couldn’t and didn’t want to bear this. I went into a severe depression because I was mad at God for taking my son. Once I decided to let God back in it became easier to live my life. It has taken me over a year, but I am so glad to have my Savior with me along this journey.

  3. As I read this I was reminded of Beth Moore’s story of her mother-in-law when she lost her son to a fire, Beth asked her ‘how on earth did you survive?’ She replied: “I didn’t intend to, I just kept waking up.”
    Sometimes, we just keep waking up – it’s still difficult – and we think we cannot go on. We don’t WANT to go on. But go on, we do. Sally is so right – if we could bear it, we wouldn’t need Jesus! I really believe the gist of those verses is to give us hope, hope that HE will give us what we need to keep waking up. To keep going on. To ENDURE. To be faithful!
    (PS – since I don’t want to be punched in the face, I will refrain from quoting that verse to you ;-))

Leave a Reply

