Posted in Book Reviews, Jesus, Life as it happens.

Addison Blakely, Confessions of a PK

I don’t remember how it happened and which one sent a friend request first, but on facebook I am friends with an amazing woman who is a daughter, wife, Momma and author.   I love learning about her little family and commiserating with the antics of her little daughter, affectionately called “Li’l Miss”.  So much of what she posts on facebook I can vividly remember. Of course I’m able to laugh at it now.

Betsy St. Amant is her name. I have reviewed a couple of her books for adults and found them to be delightful. When she wrote a young adult novel, Addison Blakely, Confessions of a PK, I wanted to be the first on her review list.

There was a little trepidation mixed in with my excitement over this book. Trepidation because…well I just wasn’t sure she could pull off a young adult novel.

Boy was I wrong! I couldn’t have possibly been any more wrong! This book is a delightful read! I found myself reading and reading “just one more chapter”.

Addison Blakely is obviously a PK (or Preacher’s Kid). She lives alone with her Dad, the pastor, after her mother passed away.  Her dad has several rules in place for Addison’s behavior and for the most part Addison obeys them. She struggles with knowing God really desires a relationship with her when her dad for the most part is silent.

But what will she do when Wes comes to town and starts showing an interest in her? What will she do, and how will she answer his questions of why she does what she does?  Does she do them because she really believes or simply because her dad says it is the right thing to do?

Can Addison take her dad’s faith, her dad’s God and make Him personal?

That is a struggle we all must face. Betsy navigates the issue with grace and really points young adults to Jesus. She shows that faith has to be made personal or we will forever struggle with the questions of why. “Why do we do this? Why do we not do that?” etc.

As a mother there are a few things I wish was not in the book. I wish Addison didn’t sneak out at night to ride Wes’ motorcycle when she knew her dad would not allow it. I wish there had been a consequence for that disobedience (James 4:17 niv, “Anyone then, who knows the good he ought to do and doesn’t do it, sins.”).

This is a book I was really hoping I could pass on to my children to read. Because of some of the boy/girl issues (that most all teens/young adults face) are beyond where my children are, I don’t feel they are ready for this book yet.

But if your children are older, or even if you’re looking for a cute, fun, light book to read. I can’t recommend this one highly enough! I give it 4.5 turning pages.

(I received this book free from the author for the sole purpose of review)

Author:

Child of the Most High God, Wife, Home-schooling Momma of 2. I love Jesus, people and coffee. I am the somewhat eternal optimist viewing the coffee cup as half nothing, it's full...even when I'm chewing the grounds at the bottom.

Leave a Reply

