Communicate much?

In my house, we don’t have a communication problem. Like most houses with busy people we don’t communicate. And that’s no problem.

Mr. FullCup is our church’s Christian Ed. Director for the children. He is over all things pertaining to children between the ages of birth and 6th grade.  I can’t begin to tell you the number of times people have come to me and asked some mind-boggling question like “Does Mr.FullCup still  need toothpicks for God Squad?” I have to look at them dumbly because I have no earthly idea he needed them or if he still does. This is usually followed up with an equally mind blowing question, “what does he need them for?” I have to admit my ignorance and beg forgiveness because I have no earthly idea what they are talking about.

It seems they think we talk.

Last night Mr. FullCup came home with a bottle of water which is unusual. Not that he came home but that he had a bottle of water with him. He doesn’t spend money on himself at all. I asked if he had spend money because it was so out-of-the-ordinary. He said no someone had bought it for him.

“Why?”

“Because I was at the hospital.”

Shocked look, “Why??????”

“I was visiting Dan.”

Now Dan is our pastor who is about my age and Mr. FullCup was supposed to meet with him yesterday afternoon but Dan called and cancelled the meeting…or so said Mr. FullCup. I assumed it was because Dan was busy or maybe he just had no desire to spend Valentine’s afternoon with another man. I can’t say I blame him.  For whatever reason though the meeting was cancelled.

And now back to my story.

“Why?”

“Because he’s probably going home today. They are weaning him off life support. …”

My mind immediately goes to his wife and his Chinese exchange student and his being surely shipped back to China and all the ramifications of that.  And how will she handle raising twin 10 year old boys and a 4 year old girl alone. Will she move to be closer to her family? Was Dan in a serious accident? What kind? Was he horribly maimed? And why take him off life support in one day?

Then I come to my senses and ask “Dan who?”

Not that Dan. That Dan is still living well. He probably has no idea he was at death’s door and I had him buried and his wife moved.

Ever happen to you?

2 thoughts on “Communicate much?

  1. All the time Ms Fullcup. I would have already picked out the dress to wear to the funeral. On the other hand, if we didn’t have such vivid imaginations, we wouldn’t be as entertaining. 🙂

Leave a Reply

