Change Your Heart and Life

Sounds rather bold and bossy of me, doesn’t it?

Psalm 51:10 reads, “Create a clean heart for me, God; put a new, faithful spirit deep inside me!”  (The Common English Version). I desire that for myself.

King David penned those words, under the direction of the Holy Spirit after his horrific sin with Bathsheba. You might know the story. King David didn’t go out to war with all the kings one Spring. Instead he stays in Jerusalem and walks on his balcony. From that vantage point he sees a lady bathing on her own rooftop. He can’t help but stare as she is incredibly beautiful. He refuses to listen to reason as his men tell him whose wife she is, and sends for her.

A few weeks later she sends a message to David saying she is pregnant. David decides to take matters into his own hands and hide the fact that the baby could only be his. In his attempts at handling it and hiding it, he has Uriah, Bathsheba’s husband killed.

But God saw it all. And God knew. He sent Nathan the prophet to David to pronounce his consequence for this sin. As a result David wrote Psalm 51.

I haven’t done anything as grievous as David did but it doesn’t mean my sin is any less horrific to a Holy God. Every day I find I need to pray this very verse, Create a clean heart in me, God; put a new, faithful spirit deep inside me!”

Don’t you? I find it such a struggle to just obey. But without a doubt the more I do it, the more I bend my will until  it is His will, the easier it is. The more I pray He will create a pure heart in me, the easier it is to walk in that creation.

How are you choosing to change your heart and life?

Leave a Reply

