Posted in Jesus, Life as it happens.

Thoughtful Thursday

Yesterday morning I awoke pondering John 6:44,

“No one can come to Me unless the Father who sent me draws him…”(nasb)

I tried to wrap my mind around that verse and

“The Lord is…not wishing for any to perish but for all to come to repentance.” (2 Peter 3:9 nasb)

And then this verse jumped into the fray,

“For the wrath of God is revealed from heaven against all ungodliness and unrighteousness of men who suppress the truth in unrighteousness, because that which is known about God is evident within them; for God made it evident to them. For since the creation of the world His invisible attributes, His eternal power and divine nature, have been clearly seen, being understood through what has been made, so that they are without excuse.” (Romans 1:18-20 nasb)

I know, and have known all of these verses for years. I’ve believed them to be true for years. But it wasn’t until I began to experience some mockery, some antagonism because of my belief that I’ve had to take a hard look at them.

I had never really realized how on first glance they could appear to say the opposite. In the John 6:44 verse it quite plainly says that we can’t come to Jesus unless the Father draws us.  But in the 2 Peter passage it quite plainly says God doesn’t wish anyone to die apart from Him. And Romans tells us that man is without excuse.

I realized that (and please know, this is not a new realization, it is more an old realization I’ve fleshed out with God and it is now cemented into my soul) from the creation of the world God has been drawing men to Himself.

And it’s not an exclusive club. He doesn’t pick and choose those He wants. If you’re a living, breathing human walking on planet earth, He is drawing you to Himself.

In the same vein, ignorance is no excuse. No one can stand before Him and declare their innocence because of ignorance. Creation speaks loudly about the existence of God and about His character.  Rationalizing and trying to explain our existence any other way does not change the fact that men are without excuse. Creation plainly reveals God.

Man’s vain attempt to explain our existence any other way does not make their way true.

Today I read a verse that is probably very familiar to everyone who names the name of Jesus. Today though He gave me fresh eyes to read it with a prayer on my lips,

All Scripture is inspired by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, for training in righteousness; so that the man of God may be adequate, equipped for every good work. (2 Timothy 3:16 nasb)

My prayer for today is that I would allow the Word of God, the Word that was and is the very breath of God to teach me, reprove me, correct me and train me in righteousness so I will be adequate for every good work.

Author:

Child of the Most High God, Wife, Home-schooling Momma of 2. I love Jesus, people and coffee. I am the somewhat eternal optimist viewing the coffee cup as half nothing, it's full...even when I'm chewing the grounds at the bottom.

Leave a Reply

