Posted in Book Reviews

Love, Sex and Happily Ever After

My pastor is always flaunting good books under my nose. He loves to taunt me by showing me a delicious looking book and saying, “Please mail this to so and so. And, lady, don’t read it first.”

Okay that might not be quite completely accurate. He has never told me not to read it first. But he has asked me to mail them to someone else.

The latest book he has waved under my nose is one I’m still dying to read, The Christian Atheist by Craig Groeschel. He is going through the book with a men’s group Bible study and a class at church will be reading it in Sunday school this summer. Last night I actually had the book in my possession last night and but I was only researching it and it was loaned to me.

I did not read it.

But I did find another book by Craig Groeschel and I downloaded it to my handy-dandy nook tablet. I read Love, Sex and Happily Ever After. I thought it was going to be a book on marriage because that just made sense. It was to a certain extent. I thought it would be a book on marriage for those who have been married.

However, I was mistaken. It is a book on marriage but is designed more those who are looking at getting married. That didn’t stop me from reading it though. And it didn’t stop me from reading it in less than 24 hours either. It’s a short read, just 15 chapters and about 163 pages.

Mr. Groeschel speaks bluntly to the readers. He talks about marriage and our being designed to go the distance. He makes sure the reader understands “going the distance” does not mean “going all the way.”

I loved chapter 2 of the book. Mr. Groeschel titled it “Finding the One”. He tells us that Jesus is THE ONE we’re looking for, not  some person. We need to find our “two” not our “One”. We are not to look for and wonder if he or she is the one for us. Jesus is the one for us, we need to find our Two. We need to remember that Jesus is our ONE, our first priority and our spouse is our TWO, or second priority. Everything falls under those.

I know several young couples, some of which are getting married this summer and I know exactly what I’m going to suggest they read. Even those who aren’t getting married anytime soon.

This would be a great a book for high schoolers to read and maybe even junior highers/middle schoolers. Yes, it’s that good.

If this is any indication of Mr. Groeschel’s other books, I am waiting on pins and needles to read them.

 

I received a free copy of this book from the publisher for the purpose of review.

Author:

Child of the Most High God, Wife, Home-schooling Momma of 2. I love Jesus, people and coffee. I am the somewhat eternal optimist viewing the coffee cup as half nothing, it's full...even when I'm chewing the grounds at the bottom.

One thought on “Love, Sex and Happily Ever After

Leave a Reply

