Posted in Book Reviews

Star!

Sometimes I fear it appears all I do is read and blog, blog and read, read and blog. I can most heartily assure you that is not at all true. I seem to run around from sun up to sun down. I have just come across a lot of really good books lately.

Yesterday afternoon saw me escaping from the heat to my recliner with my nook. I had downloaded a book from Book Sneeze and spent an enjoyable Sunday afternoon lost in the world of teenagers.

Yes, the above book, Starring Me by KristaMcGee is a young adult novel and quite honestly is the best YA novel I have read in a long time.

Kara McKormick is a teen age girl who dreams of acting. She had appeared in a reality show much like the Bachelor. She had competed with other girls to win a date to the prom with the President’s son. Kara wasn’t picked but that didn’t stop her from trying out for a new show on a brand new network.

After the reality show, Kara meets a young pop singer and of course, develops a crush on her. Isn’t that every girl’s dream? What Kara doesn’t know is this singer is going to be the star of the new show.

Can Kara survive the meanness of the other girls who are also trying out for the role? What will she decide when her father has a heart attack? What will she do with Jesus?

You’re going to have to read the book to find out!

I loved that this book didn’t have much of the boy-girl relationship. There was a relationship but it wasn’t mentioned much and when it was the boy and girl were praying about what they should do before proceeding with the relationship. I just don’t like reading a book for young adults and finding it to not be any different than the books I read for adults.

There was one and only one part of the book I didn’t like. One of the girls pretends to be a Christian so she can win the role. She tells Kara that it doesn’t matter what you believe as long as you believe something. That thinking has infiltrated the church and I hate it. I know God hates it! He clearly states He is the ONLY way to heaven. I wish the author had more clearly pointed out the fallacies of this line of thought.

I received a free copy of this book from the publisher for the purpose of review.

Author:

Child of the Most High God, Wife, Home-schooling Momma of 2. I love Jesus, people and coffee. I am the somewhat eternal optimist viewing the coffee cup as half nothing, it's full...even when I'm chewing the grounds at the bottom.

Leave a Reply

