Running

I am taking a rest day in regards to THE Tour. Not that I’m not watching, but I have other blog fodder. At least for now. Wait for tomorrow…it might change.

Four years ago the world watched as one of the lost boys from South Sudan carried the flag of his new country in the opening ceremonies of the Olympics. I remember watching Lopez Lomong, who to me was an unknown runner, compete in the 2008 Beijing Olympics.

Lopez has written a book telling his story. Running For My Life is his story. As a six year old boy, he was ripped from his mother’s arms while attending church.  He was tossed into the back of a truck with a lot of other boys and was taken to a one room hut that was already over-crowded with boys who had also been taken.

He tells of one boy asking to use the restroom and hearing the “guards” beat him, then silence, then beatings again. The poor boy was beaten for asking, they thought he planned on escaping. They followed him into the woods and allowed him to “do his business” and then beat him again outside the hut. The boys learned not to ask to use the restroom and instead just used the inside of the stifling hut.

He tells of his daring escape with three boys he calls angels. He thought they were taking him home, but they ended up on the border of Sudan and Kenya. The border guards there recognized the signs of escapees from a prison camp from Sudan and took the boys to Kakuma, a refugee camp.

Lopez spent ten years in this refugee camp before being given the great opportunity to travel to America.  And that is all I’ll tell you of his story, you’ll have to get the book and read it for yourself to find out the rest of the story.

Parts of the book are laugh-out-loud-funny, other parts will make you weepy, and other parts make you shake your head and think.

Now I have to say, and I’m not sure how to word this. While the book does mention God and the Bible I’m not entirely convinced it is a “Christian” book. I’m not sure Lopez loves and serves my Jesus. There is nothing offensive in this book so if you don’t mind a good autobiography, get this book!

 

I received a free copy of Running For My Life by Lopez Lomong from Thomas Nelson Publishers for the purpose of review. The free book did not affect my honest review.

Leave a Reply

