Posted in Book Reviews

Sunday’s Men.

I love football. I even understand the game. I know football has quarters, I know  field goal is 3 points, touchdown is 7 and a safety is 2. I know how the two-point conversion works. I know about over-time. I know leading with the head is a huge no-no.  I even know most of the hand signals for penalties the officials use. I know that BJ on the back of a man’s shirt is not his name, nor is LJ the man’s initials. BJ-Back Judge, LJ-Line Judge. I know a quarter back is not a name given to someone who is missing 3/4 of his back.

I love football season. I love cheering for my team. I even like it when Mr. FullCup likes the opposing team. I like it when my team wins.

I like knowing there are men who name the name of Jesus who play the game. I like cheering for them, even when they are on a team I don’t like. I’m not a fan of the Broncos but when Tim Tebow played there I cheered for him.

Curtis Eichelberger recently published Men Of Sunday, How Faith guides the Players, coaches and wives of the NFL.

I had the privilege of reading this book and while it is good it wasn’t quite what I thought it would be. I thought it would be testimonies of the players. It isn’t.

In places the book is dry. But other times it is absolutely enthralling.  I enjoyed reading the stories of the faith of some of the world’s toughest men. I love reading about what drives them. I like knowing these men take God‘s word seriously and are actively “doing everything to the glory of Christ.”

If there is a man in your life who loves football, this would be a great book to get him. Or if you’re like me and love the game, get it for yourself.

 

I received a free copy of this book for the purpose of review.

Author:

Child of the Most High God, Wife, Home-schooling Momma of 2. I love Jesus, people and coffee. I am the somewhat eternal optimist viewing the coffee cup as half nothing, it's full...even when I'm chewing the grounds at the bottom.

Leave a Reply

