Posted in Book Reviews

Grace, Grace

Grace.

A girl’s name. A book’s title. An attribute of God. A character trait we all need. Something we extend to others because God has extended it to us.

Max Lucado has written, and Thomas Nelson has published, a book entitled simply, Grace. It’s subtitle is: More than we deserve. Greater than we imagine.  You have to believe me when I say this book is phenomenal and a must read for everyone who names the name of Jesus. Those who need need grace and those who revel in it’s power in their life.

This book revolutionized my life and my thoughts on grace. I’ve heard about grace, I’ve sung songs about grace, but I’m not sure I spend much time contemplating what grace really means. I know I haven’t given near enough thought on how I can use grace in the lives of other people.

I learned things like:

  • When grace happens, Christ enters.
  • Grace is everything Jesus.
  • Grace is a God who stoops.
  • The fruit of grace: saved by God, raised by God, seated with God.
  • Jesus Christ is what God does, and the cross is where God did it. (Frederick Buechner)
  • Sin is not a regrettable lapse or an occasional stumble.
  • Sin tells God to get out, get lost, and not come back. Sin is insurrection of the highest order, and you are the insurrectionist.
  • Grace is not blind.
  • Grace is simply another word for God’s tumbling, rumbling reservoir of strength and protection.
  • When grace happens, generosity happens.
  • Trust God’s hold on you more than your hold on God.
  • Grace fosters obedience.

Eleven chapters. One conclusion. Profound thoughts. Simple thoughts. Amazing grace.

I loved this book because while the concept is complex, the words are simple. Max Lucado put grace in words we can all relate to and understand. He peppered each chapter with personal stories and anecdotes these increased my understanding of grace.

There is a study guide at the back of the book that would be very helpful whether you are doing the study alone or with a group.

My prayer for me is that I will allow the truths of this book and THE Book to infiltrate my heart and become such a part of who I am that when others see me, they really see the God who gives grace.

To read more of my thoughts on this book, click here.

(I received a free copy of this book from Thomas Nelson publishers for the purpose of review.)

Author:

Child of the Most High God, Wife, Home-schooling Momma of 2. I love Jesus, people and coffee. I am the somewhat eternal optimist viewing the coffee cup as half nothing, it's full...even when I'm chewing the grounds at the bottom.

One thought on “Grace, Grace

Leave a Reply

