The Blessed Church

Robert Morris is the pastor of Gateway Church in the Dallas/Ft. Worth area.  He is the author of The Blessed Life, The Power of your Words, The God I never knew, and his latest work is The Blessed Church.

The premise of his book is how to grow your church to a mega church that shows God’s abundant blessings.  The Blessed Church is subtitled, “The Simple Secret to Growing the Church You Love.”

The first “secret” is to have a vision and to share your vision. Since the book is written primarily to pastors, his next secret is rather specific to that role, you need to have powerful sermons.  You also have to be a shepherd. You need to have: a mission statement, a vision statement.

From the first sentence in the Introduction, I knew I would have some issues with this book. It was cemented in my mind when I read the following (and I’m paraphrasing) “I did xyz, I know the Bible says not to do that, but I was on fire and I had God’s call on my life.”

There is not a “secret” of the author’s that my church isn’t doing. And we don’t have multiple thousands of people in attendance. We don’t have 5 services on a weekend. Being blessed by God doesn’t follow a formula. The blessing of God follows obedience.

Why is it we think the mega churches are the ones being blessed?

The first line of the introduction, and it was also a prevalent theme through out the book, shared how “to the best of our ability we have built Gateway Church.” And my hackles went up. God builds His church. We do have a role, don’t get me wrong. We do, but all the programs in the world designed to bring people in won’t work. They won’t work at all if we are not living lives sold out to Jesus.

For centuries God has been growing, building His church without mission and vision statements. His vision statement and His mission statement are the same and they are the cross.  Programs won’t bring people in. People bring people in. The Spirit of God living, breathing in the life of believers draws people in.

In all honesty, I found this book and it’s premise to be pompous and arrogant. I can not recommend it.

 

(I received a free copy of this book from the publisher for the purpose of review. All opinions in this review are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.” Book photo courtesy of http://imlisteningtogod.wordpress.com )

Leave a Reply

