Posted in Book Reviews

The Christmas Pony.

The year is 1937, the nation is deep in the Great Depression and Lucy Turnbull dreams of a pony of her own. She knows it is pointless to ask for one because her family barely has enough money to live on, much less money for a pony.

Lucy already has the pony she wants picked out and named. She prays that God would see fit to give her this pony for Christmas. She doesn’t ask her mom because 1) she knows the answer and 2) she doesn’t want to make her mom sad all over again.

On a trip to town Lucy learns of a couple in need of a place to stay while their car is in the shop. Since her mom runs a boarding house, she volunteers her home. She partly thinks it will bring in money they need and maybe even enough to get that pony.

The couple agrees to rent a room in the boarding house. They are on their way to California where the lady wants to be an actress.

That is about all I’m going to tell you, you’ll have to get the book and read it for yourself.

My thoughts: I thought the book was cute. It’s a fast moving story, it’s perfect to read over the Christmas season.

I think Lucy’s character could have been a little better developed. At times she sounded very young, younger than she was supposed to be and at other times she sounded much older than she was. I did not particularly like how she would sometimes talk to her mom. Some of what she said, I think would have been better coming from her grandmother than Lucy herself.

I had my 12-year old read it as well. She enjoyed the book, but she thought it left the impression that anyone who aspires to be an actress isn’t a good person, couldn’t be a Christian and there wasn’t anything good in them.

I like that it is a hardback book, those hold up so much better! I also think the cover of the book is great! My 12-year old says “it’s cool!”

All in all, I gave it 4.5 turning pages, and my 12-year old gives it 4.

(I received a free copy of this book from the publisher for the purpose of an honest review.)

*The Christmas Pony by Melody Carlson, published by Revell House and available in bookstores September 2012.*

Author:

Child of the Most High God, Wife, Home-schooling Momma of 2. I love Jesus, people and coffee. I am the somewhat eternal optimist viewing the coffee cup as half nothing, it's full...even when I'm chewing the grounds at the bottom.

Leave a Reply

