Posted in Book Reviews

Fearless Daughters of the Bible

20121211_120834I’ve been pondering just what I should do about this book, Fearless Daughters of the Bible by J. Lee Grady.  I haven’t yet been able to finish it and that is part of my conundrum.

You see in the introduction and first chapter I was offended by the author three times.  I do not believe anyone who lives with anyone of the opposite gender is qualified to write a book about and for the opposite gender. I do not believe I am in anyway qualified to write a book about men of the Bible for men today. Because I’m not a man. I have lived with one for most of my life, I have several male friends, I regularly interact with men, and I am married to one. That does not qualify me to write a book for them or about them at all.

The author of Fearless Daughters of the Bible is a man. He feels qualified to write a book for woman and about women because he is married and has daughters. But ladies, I’m going to be perfectly frank with you, he doesn’t get it because he doesn’t get us.

This is NOT a blog post for bashing men. If you are thinking that is all I am doing, you couldn’t be further from the truth. That is not my intent.

Women throughout history have been maligned by men, our gender has been accused of using our power of influence and even our beauty for evil. J. Lee Grady states in his opening chapter that Sarah‘s beauty got her in trouble.

It wasn’t her beauty. In fact, she wasn’t even the one “in trouble.” No, the one “in trouble” was non other than her husband, Abraham. Why was he in trouble? Because he told her to lie about their relationship to save his own scrawny neck.

Yes, Sarah was indeed beautiful. But that wasn’t the problem. Abraham’s lack of faith was the problem.

The other thing that offended, he tells a story of a missionary who was asked to be the senior pastor a church in Singapore. She believed it was unbiblical for women to be senior pastors. She prayed about it and changed her mind. Now, I do believe women are not to be  in authority over men, I believe women, biblically are no to be pastors. Lead women’s Bible studies, sure, pastor a church? No.

I am so tired of people claiming God changed their mind and so now they are doing what man asked of them because “it was wrong before but now it’s right.” God doesn’t change! If it was for the first century church, it’s wrong for the twenty-first century church. Even though Paul penned the words, he did so under the inspiration of the Holy Spirit.

Sigh.

So there you have it. I obviously can’t say I recommend this book.

 

I received a free copy of this book from the publisher for the purpose of an honest review.

Author:

Child of the Most High God, Wife, Home-schooling Momma of 2. I love Jesus, people and coffee. I am the somewhat eternal optimist viewing the coffee cup as half nothing, it's full...even when I'm chewing the grounds at the bottom.

2 thoughts on “Fearless Daughters of the Bible

  1. Thanks for the honest review of the book. Glad that it’s one thing NOT on my “to read” list.
    I loved “The Harlot by The Side of the Road and other Forbidden tales of the bible.” I can’t remember the author. It made me want to get up and get my Bible and read it.. REALLY read it. Any book that can do that is awesome to me!

  2. WOW! I could not agree with you anymore and you said it real well, without “bashing” men. Thank you for your honest review of the book. I take your recomendation to heart, if I want to read a particular book, or have wondered about it. Date: Tue, 11 Dec 2012 19:16:15 +0000 To: tom-melanie@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

