Posted in Book Reviews

Fully Alive

“Ohhhh. Your friend here is only mostly dead. There’s a big difference between mostly dead and all dead…Mostly dead is slightly alive. With all dead there is usually only one thing you can do. Go through his clothes and look for loose change.” ~Miracle Max

Bible belt folks think living is a sin, so they are started dying from the day their born-again.” ~Steve Taylor.

“I have come that you might have life and have it to the full!” ~Jesus Christ.

The book by comedian Ken Davis, Fully Alive, A Journey that will change Your life, is the perfect book to read in mid-December as one year is closing in and a new one is on the horizon. This time of year always brings about a time of reflection, at least for me. A reflection on how I lived in the previous 12 months and how I hope to live in the coming 12 months.  I think on what I need to change in order live better.

Ken Davis had a “NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO” photo that changed his life. He was obese, depressed and knew if anything happened to one of his grandchildren he would be completely unable to help.  He calls it his “nooooooooooo” picture, he says he looked like a walking Manatee, he was afraid to lie on the beach. He thought the environmentalist would mistake him for a beached whale and roll him back to the water.

Fully Alive is his journey to a place of healing, health and restoration. He shares how he got physically fit, emotionally, mentally and spiritually fit. And it all involves risk.

I like to think of myself as a healthy person. I’m in my mid-40s and I exercise at least twice a week. I was shooting for 3 times but life happens.

Hah! No more. I wasn’t challenging myself. I just read a book written by a man who is 65 years old and he exercises for ONE HOUR 6 days a week. I thought I was doing good with 90 minutes of exercise a week. (Please know, I KNOW 90 minutes a week is not bad.) I am an active person throughout the week but I could be better.

I am now on a mission to be FULLY ALIVE in all aspects of my life. And I’m starting NOW!  I do not want to be a person who died at 25 and wasn’t buried until I’m 75. I want to live, fully alive, fully engaged in all that God has for me. I want to be willing to risk. I want to challenge myself. I want to deepen my love and my relationship with the God who created the universe. I want to deepen existing friendships. I want to gain new ones. I want to make sure I have at least 6 friends, close enough to carry my casket when I slide into death, completely used up.  Okay to understand that, you’ll have to read the book.

Who is with me? Who wants to quit being the living dead and start living life to the full?

If you’re looking for another weight loss and diet book with a magic wand to make you instantly a healthier, trimmer you, don’t read this book. If you’re sick of books promising amazing results with little or no effort on your part, if you’re willing to work, and work hard, this is the book for you!

Here’s to living fully alive in 2013! But because I am not a procrastinator, I’m not putting this off for two weeks. I’m starting today.

Just let me grab my tennies…I’ve got a hour to run!

I received a free copy of this book from the publisher for the purpose of review.

Author:

Child of the Most High God, Wife, Home-schooling Momma of 2. I love Jesus, people and coffee. I am the somewhat eternal optimist viewing the coffee cup as half nothing, it's full...even when I'm chewing the grounds at the bottom.

Leave a Reply

