Posted in Book Reviews

Chocolate Covered Baloney.

April Grace Reilly is a pre-adolescent girl in the sixth grade. Her sister, Myra Sue, is in the ninth grade and dreams of making it big as a movie star.

Chocolate Covered Baloney, written by K.D. McCrite in the voice of April Grace, is a story about sibling rivalry and learning what is really important.

The book starts off simply hilarious.  April Grace is in church and the preacher says “Things are going to change!” He was right, but April Grace wasn’t altogether sure she liked the changes that came her way.  She had already experienced some changes, Ian and Isabel St. James hadn’t been there a year ago, neither had her baby brother, Eli.  Her Grandma was still a “normal” cooking and cookie baking Grandma who never went on dates.

You’ll have to read the book to see what kind of changes God has in store for April Grace because I’m not telling.

As I mentioned the book is hilarious, and I love nothing more than a funny book. The characters are well-developed, the plot great and moves along at a nice pace.  The confliction/resolution is there but it could be a bit stronger…at least the resolution. I know this book will be a hit with the middle-school crowd.

There a few things I found troubling.

  • The sibling rivalry. I know, I know. It’s a right of passage, all children experience it. All children talk that way to their siblings. It might be normal but it doesn’t have to be!  I do not care at all for the amount of times, and really even if it was just once it would be too many, April Grace referred to her sister as dumb. It was heavily implied she was stupid and lacked any brain cells for the “important” things in life.  I am questioning letting my girls read it, because this type of talk/behavior is not allowed in my home and the last thing I want them to do is read it.
  • I wish there was a stronger God element in the story. The book starts out with April Grace and her family in church and that is about it for the spiritual element.

But you need to decide for yourself!

I received a free copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Author:

Child of the Most High God, Wife, Home-schooling Momma of 2. I love Jesus, people and coffee. I am the somewhat eternal optimist viewing the coffee cup as half nothing, it's full...even when I'm chewing the grounds at the bottom.

Leave a Reply

