The Emotionally Healthy Woman by Geri Scazzero

I have heard that from the conception of an idea through to the publishing and seeing your book on the shelf in the bookstore is a lot like being pregnant and giving birth. I’ve not yet written a book (and at this point have no plans to do so) but I have given birth. I know that to be an painful experience.

Knowing that giving birth is a lot like writing and publishing a book; knowing authors put their heart and soul into the book, makes it very difficult for me to write a review of a book I didn’t like. Honestly I’d rather not saying anything about a book if I didn’t like it. But as a reviewer I pay for the books I get by reviewing them. It’s a nice perk.

The Emotionally Healthy Woman, Eight Things You Have To Quit To Change Your Life by Geri Scazzero is just such a book. I would really rather saying nothing about this book at all. Except maybe to warn people to not read it.

Have you ever listened to someone tell their story? They tell it in such a way as to tell you “LOOK! This is what God did for me! And He is dying to do the same for you! Praise Him!” You know complete healing is not only possible it is highly probable. You want to dive in and get down and dirty with God. You want to ruthlessly eradicate sin and everything that holds us back. We want to learn from our past, we want to go forward with God.  We can’t put the book down. We want it and we want it now.

Have you ever listened to someone tell their story and their attitude and demeanor is “Poor pitiful petunia me. I had such a hard life.”  You are inspired to do nothing more than walk away.

This book is a walk away book.  If it wasn’t written by the wife of a pastor and seminary president, and didn’t claim to be a Christian book. If you took out all references to the Bible, this could very well be a New York Times Best seller in the self help genre. It is full  of man’s psychological mumbo-jumbo. If that was all it was, I would wouldn’t like it but I would expect it.

However, this book does have Bible references in it. It is supposed to be a “Christian” book and the author is the wife of a pastor/seminary president.

Mrs. Scazzero choose as a young Christian woman to follow what she perceived to be the expected behavior of a lover of Jesus. She looked not to His Word for her behavior but to her fellow man. And she got in a world of hurt because of her choice.

In the book there is a chapter titled “Quit Dying to the Wrong Things.” She quotes Mark 8:34 “If anyone wants to be my follower, he must deny himself, take up his cross and follow Me.” She says we don’t have to deny ourselves, we don’t have to completely die to ourselves.  I had huge red flags obliterating my view so I looked up the word “deny” in my handy-dandy Strong’s Exhaustive concordance and I found out that the word could be aptly translated as disown. We are to deny or disown our own flesh.  Yes, we do have to take care of ourselves, we are to make sure we get adequate rest, nutrition and practice good hygiene. But aside from that, we are His. If we are doing His work, in His strength, in His time, He will make sure we are taken care of. Deny means deny utterly.

In the same chapter she quotes Jeremiah 17:9, “The heart is deceitful and desperately wicked, who can know it?”.  She claims this is not true for the believer.  I claim that is hogwash. If I constantly follow whatever my heart says, I will be in a world of hurt and I will not be walking by the Spirit but by my own fleshly desires.

I have a very hard time with authors/pastors/teachers who claim the Bible says something it does not.  As such and after citing those two examples I have to say I can not recommend this book at all. To anyone.

I received a free copy of this book from the publisher for the purpose of review.

3 thoughts on “The Emotionally Healthy Woman by Geri Scazzero

  1. Pingback: My full cup

  2. Appreciate the honest review. I was a little bit suss reading the book’s description on the official website so doing a bit more digging to see if I can gain further insight.

    • I’m currently reading the book and I love it. It’s helping me see what true freedom in Christ looks like – and although I do agree about the comments on denying yourself and such, the content of the book on the things that really matter – like not allowing other people’s perception of you to rule your life, not denying feeling’s of sadness and anger – has helped me immensely. Take everything with a grain of salt for your own life and check the Bible to get a true God revelation!

Leave a Reply

