The Bare Naked Truth by Rebekah Joy Martin

image from amazon.com

The Bare Naked Truth is a hard-hitting, soft touch book about purity. Namely purity for girls. Author Rebekah (Bekah) shares funny personal stories to aid in getting her point across. Namely that girls do have a choice and there is only one right choice.

By “right” I don’t mean to alienate anyone who has made other choices, but by “right” I mean there is only one right choice without nasty consequences.

Each chapter is based on 10 lies girls believe about sex. They include:

  • I have all the sex facts
  • Waiting is for wusses
  • Guys won’t want me it I’m not experienced
  • Sex is Okay as long as it’s safe
  • I’m the perfect virgin
  • It’s okay to have sex as long as you’re in love.

Even though I’m well into my 4th decade of life, married with two children I enjoyed this book. I plan on using it in discussions with my children. Bekah uses stories and analogies I had not thought of on my own.  The book is an easy enough read for pre-teens, although the subject matter on  some chapters might be better suited to older teens.

The one thing I was confused about in the book was the tone seemed to be geared toward 8-12 year olds, but sometimes it seemed geared more toward girls in college or even post-college.  The subject matter on most chapters I would say is not for girls under 12. I have a 12 year old myself and I’m not sure I’ll hand her my nook and have her read the book on her own.  However, I do think it would be a great book for a mom and daughter to go through together.

At the end of each chapter, Bekah has a short multiple choice quiz. She calls it “The (Un)Scientific Quiz” and some questions for the reader, with space to answer.

The book doesn’t officially release until next Tuesday, May 7th, but you can pre-order it on amazon.com.

I received a free copy of this book for the purpose of review. All opinions are my own.

One thought on “The Bare Naked Truth by Rebekah Joy Martin

  1. Pingback: The Bare Naked Truth Part 2, You could win a $150 pre-paid VISA | My full cup

Leave a Reply

