NIV Real Life Devotional Bible for Women

The NIV Real-Life Devotional Bible for Women is published by Zondervan. I have long been in like with the NIV Bible. This Bible on first inspection is simply beautiful. The flowers (Dogwood? Apple??) are perfect, the colors are stunning.

The Bible has 366 devotionals inside written by such women as: Lysa Terkeurst, Glynnis Whitwer, Renee Swope,  Karen Ehman, and many others.  The writers are all also writers for Proverbs 31 Ministeries. I did not read every devotional, but the one I did read seemed to be biblically based and sound.

I had a couple of “issues” with the Bible.

  1. It took forever to get here. I know I shouldn’t complain about that because it was free to me, but it took well over a month to arrive at my house. I know it left the publisher’s facilities late but it still took about 4 weeks to arrive. I have not had a shipment take that long in years. It was not sent Media Mail through the USPS, that would almost be understandable, rather it was sent UPS
  2. I would rather have all the devotionals together in either the very front of the Bible or the very back of the Bible. As it is they are scattered throughout the Bible. There is almost nothing I dislike more than reading the Word and having to skip every other page because of a devotional page. I have enough ADD/ADHD to lose my train of thought, especially when I have to turn multiple pages to continue my reading.
  3. And lastly, I am becoming increasingly less “in-like” with the NIV. I think they are changing the text too much. For example, Hebrews 12:2 used to read, “Fixing our eyes on Jesus, the Author and Perfecter of our faith…” and now reads “fixing our eyes on Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of faith…” I have personally used the NIV for 25 years and now verses I had previously memorized in the NIV are not the same.

(I received a free copy of this Bible from the publisher for review. All opinions are my own.)
It is time for a FIRST Wild Card Tour book review! If you wish to join the FIRST blog alliance, just click the button. We are a group of reviewers who tour Christian books. A Wild Card post includes a brief bio of the author and a full chapter from each book toured. The reason it is called a FIRST Wild Card Tour is that you never know if the book will be fiction, non~fiction, for young, or for old…or for somewhere in between! Enjoy your free peek into the book!

You never know when I might play a wild card on you!

Today’s Wild Card Insight Notes author is:
and the book:
Zondervan; Special edition (March 19, 2013)
***Special thanks to Rick Roberson for sending me a review copy.***
ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Lysa TerKeurst is a New York Times bestselling author and national speaker who helps everyday women live an adventure of faith. She is the president of Proverbs 31 Ministries, author of 15 books, and encourages nearly 500,000 women worldwide through a daily online devotional. Her remarkable life story has captured audiences across America, including appearances on Oprah and Good Morning America. She lives in North Carolina with her husband and five children.

Visit the author’s website.

SHORT BOOK DESCRIPTION:

This Bible will help you live up to your God-given potential. Insightful daily devotions written by the women at Proverbs 31 Ministries help you maintain life’s balance in spite of today’s hectic pace. Dive into the beauty and clarity of the NIV Bible text paired with daily devotions crafted by women just like you—women who want to live authentically and fully grounded in the Word of God.

Product Details:

List Price: $34.99

Hardcover: 1536 pages

Publisher: Zondervan; Special edition (March 19, 2013)

Language: English

ISBN-10: 0310439361

ISBN-13: 978-0310439363

AND NOW…SOME SAMPLE PAGES (CLICK ON PAGES TO ENLARGE):

 

One thought on “NIV Real Life Devotional Bible for Women

  1. Pingback: A healthy, heaping dose of Spam | My full cup

Leave a Reply

