Perfecting Kate by Tamara Leigh

I’m going to miss this book. I’ll miss the characters. I can see myself in a week or two thinking to myself, “Self, I wonder how Kate and Clive are doing. I should call them.” and I’ll reach for my phone before realizing they aren’t real people but instead are most definitely characters in a book.

This does of course mean, Perfecting Kate by Tamara Leigh is a good book.  A really very good book.

Kate Meadows is an artist living in San Francisco. The story opens with her attending a gala event at her friends’, Beau and Belle, children’s clothing store. While there she meets Dr. Clive Alexander. She’s convinced he looks like Brad Pitt…in a Brad Pitt kind of way. In fact for the first few chapters he’s known as “Brad-ish”. When Adelphia shows up, Kate is convinced Dr. Alexander is off limits.

Enter Michael Palmier, make up artist to the stars. When he shows an interest in Kate and not her “perfect” roommate, Maia, Kate is thrilled. She had sworn off men twice so far that year and it was only May.  When he persists in pointing out her every flaw and having a business card to hand her for every one, she starts to feel less than perfect for him.

And she can’t seem to get Clive out of her mind.

So what is she to do? Will she ever come clean about her past with the man of her dreams? You’ll have to read the book to find out.

Now I’ve mentioned before I am not a fan of romance books. They are fake and flawed and inspire nothing more than discontentment in my own life. While this book does fall under the heading of “romance”, it definitely does not read like one. It reads like you’re stepping into someone’s life.

This book forces us to take a good long look at how obsessed we are with our own imperfections and our preoccupation with them vs. our preoccupation with God. It shows how we can say we believe God but are entirely too wrapped up in our own outer appearance.

If you’re looking for a light summer read, this is a great book!! You can find Tamara Leigh here.

I received a free copy of this book from the publisher for the purpose of review. All opinions are my own.

Leave a Reply

