Bread and Wine

Today is an incredibly sad day for me. I just this morning finished one of the best books I’ve read. I’m not going to say that I ever read because I’ve read too many to make that claim. This one however, tops the list or maybe it just resides somewhere near the top, so near you can’t really tell if it is on the top or just very close.

100_8227The book is Bread and Wine by Shauna Niequist. It’s more than a non-fiction book, more than a cookbook although both are contained within it’s cover. It’s a love story of sorts. A book that shows you how you can best show love to those around you by serving them from your table.

I learned so much. I found so much resonating with the deep places inside me. I found myself saying “I want this!” and “YES!!!” and “Oh my.” To say it spoke to me is not quite saying enough.

When reading this book, I felt like I was sitting across the table from Shauna, sipping espresso and just soaking up everything she has learned. She talks in a few places about the need for us to be all there, all the time. She decries the need for us to be uber busy every moment of every day. She longs for us to set aside our laptops, ipods, ipads, smart phones and to-do lists. She aims for us to be fully present in the present. To reach out and engage those around us. To see needs and meet them.

Written much like one writes a blog post, which can seem disjointed but isn’t at all. Each chapter is vastly different than the preceding one yet it all fits together.

The book is divided into 4 parts. Each part includes recipes for different dishes. In fact it wasn’t until I was looking at the appendix that I realized each part has recipes to make a complete meal, from appetizer to dessert.  The bonus, at least for me, is the recipes are simple and do not call for weird ingredients.

I was nosing around Shauna’s blog last night and discovered ibloom is doing a book club using this book! I’m excited. You can find more information here. Following that link will give you all the information and details you need to know. I will tell you, if you’re interested (and I think you should be!) you’ll need to order your book soon as the book club starts on Monday, June 24.

I  received a free copy of this book for the purpose of review. All opinions are my own.

4 thoughts on “Bread and Wine

  1. The likes of he and his friends called Spud and Spot and Todger and Bosom never got my European sophistication or my razor-sharp wit. And I never got whatever it is they were having either. But what can I say? Free drinks at a book launch are free drinks at a book launch. When a girl’s in fiscal lockdown she has to find her fun where it’s not going to cost her anything.

  2. Interested in cooking and/or food? Join Atlanta’s only book club dedicated to reading books about food and cooking. We will meet once a month to share thoughts on a food literature book. The club will try to not select cookbooks, but instead focus on literature in food such as Harold Mcgee “On Food and Cooking,” “What Einstein Told His Cook” by Robert Wolke and “Taste What You’re Missing” by Barb Stuckey. The meetings can be pot-luck, will be hosted in town, and will invite local chefs and food professionals to speak. Join us!

  3. Former businesswoman Elaine St. James, whose previous books, Simplify Your Life and Inner Simplicity, have over 475,000 copies in print, once again cries “Simplify!” in Living the Simple Life: 100 Steps to Scaling Down and Enjoying More. After a brief testimony to the rewards of her own simplified life, St. James discusses 100 areas, from household chores to e-mail, where action may be effectively taken to remove the clutter from everyday life. A pinch of Heloise and a dash of Buddha enliven her recipes. Book club sales to Rodale, BOMC, QPB and One Spirit. Second serial rights to Ladies’ Home Journal. (Hyperion, $14.95 320p ISBN 0-7868-6219-X)Copyright 1996 Reed Business Information, Inc. –This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Leave a Reply

