Ragged Hope by Cynthia Ruchti (Book Review)

raggedhopeWe are all affected by other people’s choices and behavior. We would do well to realize this every time we have a decision to make.

When I saw the chance to read and review Cynthia Ruchti’s book, Ragged Hope, Surviving the Fallout of Other People’s Choices, I jumped at the opportunity. It sounded like a book I really needed to read. I was excited for it to come.

When it did though, it fell short of my anticipation. I was expecting a book with some clear cut ideas on how to survive other people’s choices. I looked forward to reading a book that gave me ideas in forging ahead when someone else’s choice made my life difficult. Because that happens…a lot.  Instead this book was chapter after chapter talking about other people’s poor choices, and how they affected others.

I actually could have dealt with that and loved the book, after the initial disappointment. I was doing just that, enjoying the book, until I posted a small portion of the book that really stood out to me, and someone commented that the quote was actually from Corrie ten Boom and not Cynthia Ruchti. I was further dismayed when Cynthia did not credit Corrie ten Boom at all, anywhere. I admit, I became a little cynical, wondering what else was a quote from someone else.

I did like the Scripture verses/passages at the end of each chapter.  And the cover of the book is beautiful. The chapters are short and are a quick, easy read.

I give the book 3 out of 5 turning pages. Please remember, I received a free copy of this book for the purpose of giving a review. All opinions are my own, and your opinion might be different, so you should check the book out for yourself.

Cynthia Ruchti  is celebrating the release of Ragged Hope: Surviving the Fallout of Other People’s Choices (Abingdon Presswith a $200 Visa Cash Card “Hope” Giveaway and Facebook Party!

RHBlogButton

One winner will receive:

  • A $200 Visa Cash Card
  • Ragged Hope by Cynthia Ruchti

Enter today by clicking one of the icons below. But hurry, the giveaway ends on July 31st. Winner will be announced at the Ragged Hope Author Chat Part on August 1st. Connect with Cynthia for an evening of encouragement, laughter, and more! Cynthia will also share an exclusive look at her next project and give away books and other fun prizes throughout the evening.

 
So grab your copy of Ragged Hope and join Cynthia on the evening of August 1st for a chance to connect and make some new friends. (If you haven’t read the book, don’t let that stop you from coming!)

Don’t miss a moment of the fun; RSVP todayHope to see you on the 1st!

6 thoughts on “Ragged Hope by Cynthia Ruchti (Book Review)

  1. Virginia, I do appreciate your comments and review. I know not everyone will have the same reaction to Ragged Hope. Some will want specific points to follow. Others have expressed that they appreciated not being given directions during their “fallout” experiences but instead have gained from the admirable choices others made that helped move them forward. But I did want to clear up the Corrie ten Boom misunderstanding. Corrie’s exact quote was: “There is no pit so deep, that God’s love is not deeper still.” The Ragged Hope reference says: Faith whispered, “No pit too dark. No sin too wretched. He loves you anyway.” It’s important to me to recognize the distinction. Corrie’s words meant so much to me when I first read them years ago. I would not want to dishonor her by claiming her quote as my own. So the words I chose were not hers, although her courage and writings have always been inspiring.

    Again, thank you for reading, and for your honest review.

  2. Where is God when you are doing everything right yet, because of someone else’s actions, everything is wrong? Where do we find hope when it’s clouded by the ashes of other people’s choices? Ragged Hope is an insightful and hope-giving guide offering readers comfort and support, as well as encouraging them through whatever situation they may face, including the aftereffects of divorce, disease, drugs, drunk drivers, death, downsizing, disasters and bad decisions.

  3. Where is God when you are doing everything right yet, because of someone else’s actions, everything is wrong? Where do we find hope when it’s clouded by the ashes of other people’s choices? Ragged Hope is an insightful and hope-giving guide offering readers comfort and support, as well as encouraging them through whatever situation they may face, including the aftereffects of divorce, disease, drugs, drunk drivers, death, downsizing, disasters and bad decisions.

  4. “Ragged Hope: Surviving the Fallout of Other People’s Choices” is a book for survivors seeking answers to the question of how to find peace and purpose and the strength to rebuild and move on. It should also be read by Christian Counselors andPastors and made available to individuals and families in crisis.

  5. Unquestionably believe that which you said. Your favorite justification seemed to
    be on the internet the easiest thing to be aware of.
    I say to you, I certainly get irked while people consider worries that they just do not know about.
    You managed to hit the nail upon the top and also defined out the whole
    thing without having side effect , people can take a signal.

    Will likely be back to get more. Thanks https://vimeo.com/86904646

Leave a Reply

