Posted in Book Reviews

The Devil Walks in Mattingly {A Review}

The Devil Walks in Mattingly is written by Billy Coffey, which to me sounds like it could be pronounced Coffee which I like very very much. But really I don’t know how to say the last name. Don’t ask. If you do ask I’ll giggle and say, “Coffee”.

I don’t think I’ve ever had quite so much fun with an author’s last name before. (Mr. Coffey, if you read this, please do not take offense. Apparently I have coffee on the brain. Which is not that unusual really.)

Billy Coffey is celebrating his new book, The Devil Walks in Mattingly, with a Kindle Fire HDX giveaway.

mattingly-400-click

One winner will receive:

  • A Kindle Fire HDX
  • The Devil Walks in Mattingly by Billy Coffey

Enter today by clicking one of the icons below. But hurry, the giveaway ends on April 5th. Winner will be announced April  7th on Billy’s blog. Watch Billy give the backstory of the book here.

 

Don’t miss a moment of the fun; enter today and be sure to stop by Billy’s blog on April 7th to see if you won.

Now for my thoughts…this book is different. I almost want to say weird, but it’s not weird it’s just different. The sheriff breaks the law by purchasing moonshine in the first few chapters. That’s odd. A man dies, there are 3 people who know what happened and each one blames someone else. That’s not too odd.

This is a great book to read if you don’t want to fall asleep at night. This isn’t a great book to read if you get scared out of your ever-livin’ mind easily. Also not a good book to read if you live alone, or are alone late at night. Just sayin’. (Chances are good that is just my opinion really.)

It is masterfully written, the plot and characters are well developed. This is a book you can climb into and write yourself in the margins.

If you’re looking for a suspenseful book, and have no plans on sleeping for the next century, and aren’t ever going to be alone again ever…okay…I’m probably exaggerating a bit. This book is one you should read.

I give it 4 out of 5 turning pages. (Well come on..the sheriff did buy the moonshine!)

I received a free copy of this book for the purpose of review. All opinions are my own.

Author:

Child of the Most High God, Wife, Home-schooling Momma of 2. I love Jesus, people and coffee. I am the somewhat eternal optimist viewing the coffee cup as half nothing, it's full...even when I'm chewing the grounds at the bottom.

Leave a Reply

