Gluten Free, Sugar Free Cookies

These cookies are not free of taste at all. They are delicious!!!! And so very, very simple. From the first time I made them I had the recipe memorized. Just four simple ingredients. And they make up so fast…

Of course they also disappear just as fast.  You won’t be able to stop yourself from grabbing one every time you walk past the cookie jar. Or if you’re like me, they never make it to the cookie jar.

But the fact that I don’t own a cookie jar could have something to do with that.

Okay. Here are the ingredients,

100_8445

Bananas, oatmeal, natural peanut butter and chocolate chips. Now I make my own peanut butter, so I know exactly what is in it, peanuts. That’s it. I just grind up some peanuts in my food processor and voila! I have natural peanut butter. I also use carob chips. I know, I know. You think they’re of the devil and taste bad.  In these cookies, you don’t really taste them, and you can use chocolate chips (but then they won’t be sugar free). My innards really don’t like sugar.  If you don’t want to use them or chocolate chips, I have made them without the chips and they taste just as good.

You’ll want to mash 4 ripe bananas. Not overripe, not fit-only-for-banana-bread-ripe. But the ripe banana you’d eat. Mash those up like you’re making banana bread or baby food. Mash them well.

100_8443

Looks pretty disgusting, doesn’t it? Just tell yourself it’s only mashed bananas.

Then add 2 cups of oatmeal. Now if you’re really sensitive to gluten, don’t buy Quaker Oats, get the good gluten free kind. But I’m not that sensitive…yet, so I use the cheap kind. Mix it well.

100_8444

To this you’ll want to add 2 heaping tablespoons of natural peanut butter. Now you can use the natural peanut butter you get from the store or health food store. You don’t have to make your own.

Then add one cup chocolate/carob chips. Mix until combined.

100_8447

Looks good enough to eat doesn’t it?

Shape into balls and place on baking sheet or stone. (I use the Pampered Chef thing that looks like an ice cream scoop.)

100_8448

These do not flatten and spread out so feel free to put a lot on your baking sheet. I put 24 on my large baking sheet.  Bake at 350 degrees for 15 minutes.

I would immediately remove them from the sheet to a cooling rack.  Enjoy!

100_8451

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Gluten Free, Sugar Free Cookies

  1. question? Matt and I cannot have chocolate, would the carob be like chocolate, and cause some of the same issues. like the migraines and caffeine does? They sound delicious and I really want to try them if we can. Thanks, Melanie 🙂 Date: Mon, 31 Mar 2014 23:22:57 +0000 To: tom-melanie@hotmail.com

    • Melanie, I didn’t know the answer to your question, so I googled it. Here is what I found:

      “Carob comes from the pods of the carob tree. It’s kind of a legume (similar to beans and peas or lentils) and the pods are ground to powder to form an ingredient in the type of chocolate substitute that’s known as carob.
      Chocolate is made from sugar, cocoa butter and cocoa powder and other ingredients, such as milk solids (for milk chocolate). Cocoa beans are the seeds of the cacao tree. They’re fermented to produce the right flavour before being processed into cocoa butter and powder.

      Carob is totally unrelated to cocoa and therefore the two foods are completely different. However, some people think that carob is a good substitute for chocolate, particularly for those who try to avoid caffeine.
      Carob bars usually have just as much sugar as chocolate bars and they may or may not contain dairy. You really need to check the label to find out. Similarly, some chocolate is low in sugar (particularly if it is more expensive, higher cocoa content chocolate) and dark chocolate contains no or almost no milk solids.
      Some people like the taste of carob itself, not just as a substitute to chocolate.” (from https://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20080921004153AAzBdok)

  2. I appreciate that these can be gluten free. I’m a caffeine avoider, so I haven’t been able to use chocolate for a long time. I may try something else or forgo chips. I’m just thinking of some of the things I like in my oatmeal, that would go well with peanut butter. I’ll add one of them.

Leave a Reply

