10 Days Without by Daniel Ryan Day {Book Review}

“As Christians it seems like we’re called to live differently; but how can we amid all the excess of our culture? These kinds of questions haven’t always concerned me. …I grew up in a Christian home, attended a Christian school, and was involved in church, but I always felt as if my life was meant for something more. I wanted to honor God by loving Him and loving others, but I didn’t know how to make a difference.”

Daniel Day wanted to make a difference in the world for Jesus, but he struggled with how. He could talk and talk and talk about Him, but he wanted to do something more.  He wanted to live his life in radical obedience to Jesus Christ.  One morning he asked his wife if making a difference in the world was as easy as walking into a business meeting without shoes?

What if?

What if making an impact for Christ really was that simple?  He put the idea to the test and went 10 days without shoes.  For 10 days he went completely without shoes to raise awareness and funds for those who can’t afford shoes.

This leap-frogged him to more 10 days without challenges. He started a blog about his experiences and many people joined him on his challenges

I enjoyed the book, there were times my thoughts differed from Daniel’s. I don’t know how to say this without sounding like a spoiled, rich American, but we can’t take our Western culture and our “must-haves” and spread them over the world. Not everyone in every country needs shoes simply because it will appease our conscience to give them.  People in third world countries do without a lot of what we consider necessities. I personally think they would be better served by our asking them what their greatest need is and working to meet that. For example, I have a friend in Liberia who’s greatest need is not shoes, or coats, or a home. His greatest need is the money to purchase enough food for himself and his family.  If I were to raise money for him to have shoes or a coat, he would thank me graciously and think “but I need food.”

This book is GREAT at giving ideas on how we can work to raise awareness and funds for difference organizations that work directly with the poor and needy in both our country and our world.

I received a free copy of this book for the purpose of review.

Leave a Reply

