Posted in Book Reviews

Modern Pioneering by Georgia Pellegrini {A Review}

I am not The Pioneer Woman. I’m not even a pioneer woman.  What’s more I don’t want to be a pioneering woman. There was a short time in my life when I did aspire to be one, it was during my Laura Ingalls Wilder phase. But even then in the back of my mind was the horrid thought of “they didn’t have french fries.”

I am indebted to those who have gone before and paved the way for me to have the modern conveniences and niceties. I would not have wanted to be in their shoes for the most part. I do sometimes sit and wish I could have experienced the massive changes they lived through. I wish I had their work ethic.

I do long for a simpler way of life. And as the economy continues to change and drop, I desire a more self-sustaining way of life. I want to be able to grow my own vegetables, and make what I can with what I have.

That is why I picked up the book, Modern Pioneering by Georgia Pellegrini. This book is full of over 150 recipes, projects, and skills for a self-sufficient life. There is nothing in this book that anyone could not make using items you probably already have.

She tells you the easiest fruits and vegetables to grow. how to make a raised bed, how to use vaseline to “distress” wood. how to make beeswax candles, how to turn a glass bottle into a drinking glass, how to make almond milk, cold brewed  iced coffee, how to season and clean cast iron.

One chapter is entitled “Earth to Table Eating” and tells you how to eat a rose. Yes, eat one.

If you are at all interested in a self-sufficient way of life, this is the book for you.

 

I received a free copy of this book from Blogging for Books  for the purpose of review.

Author:

Child of the Most High God, Wife, Home-schooling Momma of 2. I love Jesus, people and coffee. I am the somewhat eternal optimist viewing the coffee cup as half nothing, it's full...even when I'm chewing the grounds at the bottom.

Leave a Reply

