I Quit Sugar {A Review}

Several years ago I quit sugar, or more accurately I stopped eating anything with any type of refined sugar/sweetener. I used raw honey in baking, and saw a huge reduction in my seasonal allergies.  I still have them, and they are still bad but not at all like they were.

I’ve been curious since then about how my body acts and reacts to different foods. The commercial touting the greatness of HCFS (High Fructose Corn Syrup) and equates it with sugar is laughable. Your body does not metabolize all sugar the same way.

The more highly refined sugars are worse for your body.  HCFS, table sugar, agave nectar, brown rice syrup, stevia, Splenda, aspartame, Sweet’N low, Nutra-sweet etc are all man-made, over-processed, fake-food sweeteners deemed to be “good” because sugar is evil. If sugar is evil, those sweeteners are the spawn of satan.

I’m not here to get into all the evils of refined, processed (and over processed) food, or food-like substances. I’m here to talk about Sarah Wilson’s book, I Quit Sugar.

Sarah has a whole 8-week complete detox program designed to rid your body of sugar cravings, to recalibrate your system. She found it takes about that long cleanse your body of sugar.

My experience was that it did not take near that long. But I have one caveat.

I eat fruit.

With Sarah’s plan, you do not eat any sugar at all. That includes no fruit.

At first I was taken aback by this and was sure I was going to hate the book. I don’t hate the book.  I think some of what Sarah says is at best misguided. She equates fructose (sugar found naturally in whole food fruits) to be as evil as refined white table sugar.

That simply is not the case. God made fruit and fruit is full of good nutrients your body needs.

I have a couple of things to say about fructose. Yes, it is sugar. Yes, God made it. No, it is not processed into refined sugar.  If one took the fructose found in say apples and processed it to refined sugar…it would be bad. But eating an apple is not bad. It’s healthy.

“In nature, sweet tastes usually came from seasonal raw fruit, rich in vitamins, minerals, and phytonutrients.” (from It Starts with Food by Dallas and Melissa Hartwig, page 31)

So I say eat fruit.

Sarah also says “Sugar is sugar” and that is only partly true. Again, how our bodies processed sugars is not all the same.  She recommends when you’ve completed the 8-week detox you use brown rice syrup as a sweetener.  It is, according to her book, “made from fermented cooked rice…is a blend of complex carbohydrates, maltose and glucose”. In my research, brown rice syrup is the same as refined white sugar. She also recommends using stevia. Now one book I read says to eat food with few ingredients all of which you can easily pronounce. That means stevia is out because the only thing easy to pronounce is the name. It (again according the I Quit Sugar book) is made from stevioside (300 time sweeter than sugar) and rebaudioside (450 times sweeter than sugar). You can get this in a liquid or mixed with erythritol to form granules.  (From I Quit Sugar, page 43)

So I say, eat fruit.

With all of that. The book is a great, easy read. And the program has worked well for many people around the globe. I did not have the opportunity yet to try any of the recipes, but they all look really good! And I do plan on trying them. I’ll let you know how they turn out.

I received a free copy of this book from the publisher for the purpose of review. All opinions are my own.  You can find more information on the I Quit Sugar 8-week detox program here.

 

One thought on “I Quit Sugar {A Review}

  1. Pingback: Im Quitting Sugar (hopefully) | Bitter Me

Leave a Reply

