Posted in Book Reviews

Bend Your Brain {A review}

I am not fond of jigsaw puzzles. I have a take it or leave it mindset with them. I rarely get sucked into doing a puzzle. My girls love them, my friends love them.

But if you’re talking brain puzzles. Oh I’m your girl. I love them.

And I hate them.

I love when I get the right answer. I hate when I have to look at the answers in the back first.

Three Rivers Press has published a book, Bend Your Brain, 151 Puzzles, Tips and Tricks to Blow (And Grow) Your Mind. It is full of brain bending games. The puzzles are divided into categories like:

  • Visual Perception,
  • Word Skills,
  • Critical Thinking,
  • Coordination, and
  • Memory.

Mr FullCup and I were both drawn into the Visual Perception section. Our favorite was “Wordies”.  A box with a word, part of a word, like this:

from asciiartist.com

These were our favorites. Some were hard, some like this one were easy.

I love words.  I use words every day, either in reading, writing or speaking. This category, however, was the hardest one for me.  I love a good word search, sometimes a crossword puzzle, but I like to know what words I’m looking for, or with a crossword puzzle where the words go.

We all had fun doing this experiment from the Coordination section.

Bend your middle finger towards the palm of your hand, place hand on a hard, flat surface. Lift one at a time your thumb, index finger, and pinky. Now try lifting your ring finger.

Can’t do it, can you?  Can you guess why?

If you like brain, mind-twisting puzzles, you will want to get this book! I filled in the answers with a pencil to start and erased them when I was done so I can use it over and over. Maybe I’ll get better.

Each chapter slowly builds in difficulty. I think that is to give us a false sense of security and intelligence. Hahahaha. No, probably not.

Christmas is coming and this would make a great stocking stuffer gift!!

 

I received a free copy of this book from Blogging for Books for the purpose of review. All opinions are my own.

Author:

Child of the Most High God, Wife, Home-schooling Momma of 2. I love Jesus, people and coffee. I am the somewhat eternal optimist viewing the coffee cup as half nothing, it's full...even when I'm chewing the grounds at the bottom.

Leave a Reply

