New Things

This morning I tried something new.

I experimented in the kitchen.

Not that is really new at all. I do it  a lot. Every time I have no idea what to make for supper, recipes seem to always want ingredients I don’t have on hand, so I improvise. Sometimes it works out well. And other times not quite so well. Really it turns out horrible.

I never think to write down the steps and ingredients as I’m willy-nilly throwing it together. And as soon as I sit down to eat it I’ve forgotten. If it’s good that is a huge problem. If it’s bad it’s a good thing my memory is so faulty.

Until the next time, I just throw things together and repeat a bad one.

Today I tried making my own non-dairy, sugar-free coffee creamer. Not that I use creamer in my coffee. As a general rule I like my coffee (now let’s all say this together) “blacker than a thousand midnights down in a cypress swamp.” But there are those in my house who love the stuff.

One resident won’t touch coffee without something in it.

A lot of something in it.

She likes a little coffee with her cream and sugar. And I mean a little coffee with her cream and sugar. I don’t know where I went wrong with that child.

I’m not quite sure I have it perfected, the recipe, not the child, yet. It’s okay, but not something to write a blog about….oops. Not something to write home about. But definitely something worth trying again to get it right.

Just my luck I’ll go to all this effort only to discover someone else already made it through their blood, sweat and tears.

No, I’m not going to “google” it. I just don’t want to know if someone beat me to it. And I’m sure someone did. I want my own version.

In short, I’m telling you, I can do it myself, thankyouverymuch.

Leave a Reply

