One Word

Have you heard of this, One Word? You pick one word to be your word for the coming year.It could be something you want to accomplish, something you need to focus on, a new trait you want to make a habit. Or maybe a habit you need to replace.

Anyway, you spend the year working on that one word. Everything you do revolves around that one word. Say your word is Rest. And your spouse, or parent tells you to take out the trash since your word is “rest” you assure them you can’t, because it would be a violation of your word.

Or at least that’s how I think it goes.

Our pastor has mentioned it a time or fifty gazillion. Honestly I’m interested. I’ve been feeling this way for awhile now and this might just be what I need to get out doing anything that seems undesirable at the moment.

“Oh, sorry, no. I can’t do that. It’s a violation of my ‘word'”.

All kidding aside.  I have been pondering this, wondering how you pick a word in January you’re going to focus on the whole year? Good night. I can’t even focus on the next 5 minutes. A whole year? Crazy.

But I was recently reading in Numbers (you know once you get past the boring numbers part, the book is really rather fascinating) and every time the Israelites complained, God got angry, and I was convicted.

It was a gunshot right between my eyes.

God hates sin. God hates complaining. Therefore, complaining must be sin.

Do you know every time those Israelites complained, God got angry and they paid dearly.

You would think they would have learned. But they kept at it. Complain, complain, complain.

You’d think I’d learn. But I don’t.

I guess I have a little Israeli blood mixed with my Irish blood. I don’t learn.

As I thought about this, the thought kept coming to mind,

When you’re grateful, you aren’t complaining.

When I’m grateful, I’m not complaining. Not only am I not complaining. I can’t complain. Gratefulness can’t live in a complaining heart. Complaining isn’t bedfellows with a grateful heart. They’re like oil and water. They don’t mix well.

When I’m complaining. I’m not grateful.

When I’m grateful, others want to be around me. When I’m complaining, I’m left alone. Misery doesn’t love company after all.

So my word for this year is Gratefulness. I want to be more grateful, in and for everything. It’s not going to be easy, but it’s going to be good.

2 thoughts on “One Word

  1. My one word this year is Intentional. I wasnt planning to do one this year. But in December I caught myself saying it a number of times. I want to be intentional about memorizing Bible scripture. I want to be intentional to invite young moms over for a quiet afternoon tea. I want to be intentional about…and the light bulb went off. So there you have it.

  2. I actually took an online class a few years ago called One Little Word. It was very good, My word was kindness. She had us do a variety of activities (writing, art, scrapbooking sorts of things) so that we would interact with that word and be more conscious of it. It turned out to be wonderful for me, not for the sake of the word, but because I discovered mixed media art journaling as a result of someones project photo.
    .

Leave a Reply

