Clutter Free {A review}

I don’t care what anyone tells you, I am not organized. The only part of me, that is in any way, organized is my organs. And I don’t mean the organs you play. I don’t own one of those. I’m talking about my internal organs.

Just how did we get on this subject?

Never mind. Back to organized.

One could say my kitchen is organized because my dishes are in cupboards. My clothes are organized because most of them are either in the closet or the chest of drawers.  What I am really is just simply put away. It gives the illusion of organized.

I’m also a minimalist at heart. Living with a couple (three!) pack rats. I like things put away, and I don’t like a lot of  clutter on anything. The only clutter, I like is a full bookshelf; which isn’t clutter at all. I find I get horribly grumpy, cranky really, with a lot of clutter. Since learning this about myself a few years ago, I’ve determined to eliminate clutter from my home and my life. A clutter schedule makes me just as grumpy as a cluttered kitchen.

I’ve been slowly decluttering my house. I have a system of my own design, but that doesn’t mean I’m not interested in learning, growing, and changing how I do things. To that end, I’ve read another great Kathi Lipp book.

Clutter Free, Quick and Easy Steps to Simplifying Your Space by Kathi Lipp is brand new, it just released a few days ago and it’s a winner!  This book is a treat you need. It was released at the perfect time, January, just when everyone is through the holidays and finding they can’t put all their gifts away because they have no room.

Clutter Free is perfect for those just getting their feet wet with decluttering. Kathi debunks your excuses for not decluttering, (I spent so much on it! It was a gift! I might need it later! etc) and gives you some easy, practical ways to get started. She even advocates setting the timer and only working for 15 minutes.

Anyone can clear clutter for 15 minutes.

I keep almost telling you her whole system, but that would be crazy. You should go get the book, read it, underline, write notes in the margins and get started.

I will give you one of her little pointers that has helped me tremendously,

If you don’t love it and wouldn’t buy it again…get rid of it.

It’s simple, isn’t it. Very simple.

This past week I worked to declutter my kitchen and just remembering that tip helped with a few items.

You can order this book through Kathi’s website, amazon.com or your local Christian bookstore.

I received a free copy of this book for the purpose of review. All opinions are my own.

Leave a Reply

