Posted in I'm So Crafty!, Life as it happens., Money Saving Tips

Ahhhh

It’s Winting outside my house today. What is Winting you might be asking? Well I’ll tell you it’s when Spring appears to be happening in Winter.  I have a few windows open, I’m debating hanging my laundry outside on the clothes line. I had planned on walking my oldest to choir this morning, but we found out that the schedule had been changed and choir was now.

Now, when I’m in the shower half clean.

Now just when she woke up.

Then I had planned on walking to get her. When I realized I was out of laundry soap and Monday is laundry day. It’s generally not a good idea to run out of laundry soap on laundry day.

I’ve been making my own powdered laundry soap for a few years now, I’m not sure I could go back to buying already prepared soap.  I know I don’t want to go back to paying for someone else to make it. I’m rather addicted to saving money.

I will tell you, if you have allergies like I do, you will sneeze a goodly number of times when it’s all said and done. But then you’re good to go for a number of months before you have to make it again.

Here is the recipe:

DSC_00151 bar Fels Naptha soap. I find this at Menards. It’s also available at the grocery store and WalMart. I have yet to be able to find it at Target, unfortunately.

1 Cup each, Borax and Washing Soda
DSC_0014Grate the entire bar of Fels-Naptha.

DSC_0016 DSC_0017 DSC_0018 DSC_0019

I should add here it is quite important to not grate your skin as that will hurt.

Also, you can use this as an upper arm workout, so skip your right or left arm exercises and grate Fels-Naptha instead.

When you’ve grated until you can grate no more, add the Borax and Washing Soda and mix well. Break up all the little clumps of Borax and Soda.

Okay, so the Breaking Up is Hard To Do song just ran through my head. It’s perfectly acceptable to sing it while breaking up clumps. But really that is the easy part of breaking up.

DSC_0021Use about 1 tablespoon per wash load.

DSC_0022

In my best Inigo Montoya voice, I think there is something you should know. I am not left-handed.

Author:

Child of the Most High God, Wife, Home-schooling Momma of 2. I love Jesus, people and coffee. I am the somewhat eternal optimist viewing the coffee cup as half nothing, it's full...even when I'm chewing the grounds at the bottom.

Leave a Reply

