Posted in Book Reviews

Miracle at the Higher Grounds Cafe

What would you ask if you could ask anything of God and He would visibly answer you immediately?  The people around San Antonio, Texas had that option.

It all started happening when Chelsea Chambers moved back home and reopened the coffee shop her grandmother and mother had owned. Former wife of former NFL player, Sawyer Chambers, she’s sure money is no object. She makes financial promises left and right, so when she receives a letter from the IRS stating she has 30 days to pay an $86,0000 tax bill, she takes it in stride.

It’s only when she calls Sawyer for the money to pay the bill does she realize how dire her straits really are. He has spent the money she thought they had together and it’s gone.  She sets up a payment plan with the IRS, but the monthly payments are still too much for her to make easily.

Until 2 men show up saying they were sent to set up a router free of charge. That is when things start happening. Now at the Higher Ground Cafe only one website is accessible. The God Blog. The patrons come from near and far to ask God their one question.

The only get one question, the answer is almost immediate and always tailored just for them. Chelsea and the Higher Ground Cafe show unprecedented business and those tax payments are being paid with ease.

But then someone steals the router. The God Blog disappears. What now? Will Chelsea be able to make the payments? How?

Chock full of behind the scenes activity this book dives into the angelic realm, but not in a scary Frank Peretti sort of way. This book, Miracle at the Higher Grounds Cafe, by Max Lucado with Candace Lee and Eric Newman, is a good, light-hearted read.

I enjoyed this book, but like the last novel I reviewed, it fell short of my expectations. I have loved Max Lucado’s books for several years, I have learned from him and yes, even though this was a novel, I expected to learn, expected to grow.

To be honest, and I’ve said this before, I know there are things in this world like divorce and broken families. That is a reality for far too many people, some of them near and dear to my heart. When I read a novel, I read to escape. I want to escape to a fake world, a world where the people are real, with real struggles, but who persevere. I want to read a novel in which the people are real, but they aren’t sinning. And they aren’t going further into sin.  I don’t want to read about who slept with who, who had an affair, who is having an affair, and who is living, walking daily in unforgiveness because that is what sells books.  I want to read about people who struggle but still choose the good.

And yes, I expected a different story line from Max. I expected more. This story had all the great elements, good characters, a cute plot, but it could have been so much better if the infidelity and divorce was not rampant. Sawyer and Chelsea could have struggled with keeping the shop open together.

But those are just my opinions. You should read the book for yourself to find out if you agree with me or not.

I received a free copy of this book from Litfuse for the purpose of review. All opinions are my own.

Author:

Child of the Most High God, Wife, Home-schooling Momma of 2. I love Jesus, people and coffee. I am the somewhat eternal optimist viewing the coffee cup as half nothing, it's full...even when I'm chewing the grounds at the bottom.

Leave a Reply

