Posted in Book Reviews

Women are Scary by Melanie Dale {A Review}

bookcover-flatAs long as there have been women writing books there have been books about the friendships of women. Dee Brestin wrote one a number of years ago, Lisa Whelchel wrote one a few years ago. I’ve read most of them. I’ve learned from them too. None of them have impacted me like Women are Scary by Melanie Dale.

Melanie Dale. I had never heard of her before seeing this book. Intrigued by the title, I picked it up. And honestly, I thought it would be another one of those books. You know the ones, books that lead you to believe the whole world has this figured out and you’re the only flunky.

I could not have possibly been more wrong. I LOVE this book. Note the use of the present tense verb, I love this book. Present. I will come back to this over and over because in the pages of this book I found a new best friend. We can just forget that she has no idea who I am, just like I had no idea who she was and that I live in the plain states and she lives in the South. I felt my spirit mesh with her. I found myself repeating “oh my! Me too!”

Women are Scary is a book about Momlationships. We all have them. We all need them. We all crave them. Yet, we’re all unsure how to pursue them. And is it really okay to pursue and date other moms?

Really!

In this book, you will laugh. You will cry. You will shout, “ME TOO!!!”  You will relate. You’ll find yourself hungry for more momlationships. You’ll gain the courage needed to reach out to other women. You’ll gain ideas for deepening friendships.

I can not begin to recommend this book enough. I just can’t. I was in our bookstore over the weekend and found myself gushing over it to two of the ladies working there. Gushing. Telling them repeatedly how much they needed to read this book.

It is full of life stories, silliness, and truth. It has practical advice, advice you would seek out from a best friend. Melanie doesn’t pull any punches, but she speaks with grace and a whole lotta humor.

So visit her web page linked up there, visit amazon.com or your local Christian bookstore and get this book. You’ll thank me and you’ll gain a brand new best friend.

I received a free copy of this book from the publisher for the purpose of review. All opinions are my own.

Author:

Child of the Most High God, Wife, Home-schooling Momma of 2. I love Jesus, people and coffee. I am the somewhat eternal optimist viewing the coffee cup as half nothing, it's full...even when I'm chewing the grounds at the bottom.

Leave a Reply

