Posted in Book Reviews

Sorry I’m Not Sorry by Nancy Rue {A review}

(As with the other books in this series, I did not personally read it. In fact, the day the book arrived I only saw it when I opened the box. My 14-year old grabbed it, read and passed it on to her younger sister. This review is from my 14-year old.)

SorryI absolutely loved the first two books in Nancy Rue‘s new trilogy, Mean Girl Makeover. The latest addition to the series, Sorry I’m Not Sorry, proved just as delightful as the first two.

In Sorry, readers will take a peek into the mind of Grass Valley Middle School’s Alpha Wolf, Kylie Steppe. Those who have read the preceding books will remember Kylie as the leader of the sixth-grade bullies. I admit, I had my doubts about this book. But Ms. Rue has once again delivered a true-to-life, captivating, and occasionally laugh-out-loud funny depiction of yet another aspect of the ever-growing bullying problem in America.

Kylie is one of many characters in Mean Girl Makeover that girls from fifth or sixth-grade will laugh with, cry for, and cheer with in Sorry. Through weeks of guidance from Lydia, Kylie is finally starting to change into the beautiful, loving child of God that she was created to be. But her old friends see the change and they’re definitely not fans of the new Kylie. When they turn on her through social media, Kylie is left with a decision to make: Fight for what she knows is right, or give in to her old self and retaliate against the pain she suddenly sees and feels. She finally begins to realize that her choices and  actions affect other people, as well as herself. The online bullying campaign hurts her in a way that she’s unused to, but Kylie isn’t sure how to respond. Will she make the right decision? Will Tori and the Tribelet be willing to trust Kylie and help  her, even though she’s hurt them?

I highly recommend this book and the entire Mean Girl Makeover series to any girl in middle school or even high school. Ms. Rue, you’ve nailed it once again! Congrats and many, many thanks for your effort to help the campaign against bullying.

I give this book 5 out of 5 stars!

We received a free copy of this book from the publisher for the purpose of review. All opinions are our own.

Author:

Child of the Most High God, Wife, Home-schooling Momma of 2. I love Jesus, people and coffee. I am the somewhat eternal optimist viewing the coffee cup as half nothing, it's full...even when I'm chewing the grounds at the bottom.

Leave a Reply

