Posted in Book Reviews

Just Show Up by Kara Tippetts and Jill Lynn Buteyn {A Review}

I struggle with how to help someone who is going through a time of difficulty. What do I do? What do I say? How do I not do or say thing wrong thing? How do I help and not hinder? How do I help and not make things more difficult?

I want to speak Jesus to them, to truly be His hands, His feet to my friends and neighbors who are in the hard places of life. I want to minister His grace and healing. But I’m clueless how.

The late Kara Tippetts and Jill Buteyn collaborated on a book, Just Show Up, that serves as a beacon of light to those who, like me, want to help but don’t know how.

The chapters are written by Jill with a small portion at the end of each on written by Kara. Kara’s portion ends with two questions designed to help you just show up. The chapters teach on the value of different ways we can show up and how we can be a gift to our suffering friends.

Can I say I enjoyed a book on suffering? I learned a lot from the book. I learned that it’s okay to sometimes tell friends, “Look, I know this is a hard place for you, so suppers is on me.” I learned I can do that from across state lines to across the country.

The book is written conversationally; it reads as if we’re sitting across the table sipping coffee and chatting with Jill and Kara. I love that.

There were a few times I didn’t fully agree with what was being taught. I think it is important to know your friends and what they would want/need.

How each of us will respond when either faced with our own hard or when a friend experiences hard in her life is different. We don’t and we won’t all respond the same, but we all have the same needs.

We all need friends to just show up.

I received a free copy of this book from Litfuse for the purpose of review. All opinions are my own.

Author:

Child of the Most High God, Wife, Home-schooling Momma of 2. I love Jesus, people and coffee. I am the somewhat eternal optimist viewing the coffee cup as half nothing, it's full...even when I'm chewing the grounds at the bottom.

Leave a Reply

