Posted in Life as it happens.

True Confessions

I recently sort of bumped into an old friend’s website. I thoroughly enjoyed poking around there and I even listened to some podcasts.

Those are interesting things. I’d never listened to any before and thought there was no time like the present to start. I picked one and listened to it last Saturday after my own quiet time.

And then I picked another one. I picked another one on Sunday. I picked a couple to download to my phone to listen whilst waiting for my child at a dance class.

Some of the things I heard made me question whether or not I believed that to be true. Sometimes I just argued right back with my phone. Other times I tried to tuck it away for further thought later. (And sad to say I’ve not pondered any of those because I’ve forgotten what it was I was going ponder.)

There was one statement though that made me stop, back the podcast up, and listen again. ThenI paused the whole thing and sent a text message with a quote, and asking for further clarification.

The next day I received a response. Not the kind I wanted, nor the kind I was expecting. I expected an easy answer, “Oh well, Mrs. FullCup, if you would look here, there and everywhere, you will see quite plainly why I said that. Oh and by the way, it’s been a while. We really should get caught up over coffee.” Except I hadn’t said I was Mrs. FullCup. But I did. You see the reply I received went something like this, “Who are you and why am I getting this?” Only much more polite.

When I again quoted the part in question, expecting again an answer. I was told in essence to “look it up for your own big girl self.”

(That’s a paraphrase of my own and not a very good one. But for now it will suffice…maybe.)

I’ve now spent two evenings studying it for my own big girl self, and I’m not any closer to knowing the answer than I was when I first sent the first text.  Ecclesiastes 12:12 is my verse right now, “But, my child, let me give you some further advice: Be careful, for writing books is endless and much study wears you out.”

Amen!

My current concern: that I’ll study it all out and still not agree. There is a distinct possibility of that happening. That means of course, that one of us would be wrong.

There is no other way to look at it. The Holy Spirit (ironically what I’m studying) won’t tell one person one thing and another person something entirely different. The Spirit of God always agrees with the Spirit of God. Always.

Take that to the bank!

 

Author:

Child of the Most High God, Wife, Home-schooling Momma of 2. I love Jesus, people and coffee. I am the somewhat eternal optimist viewing the coffee cup as half nothing, it's full...even when I'm chewing the grounds at the bottom.

Leave a Reply

