Jesus and The Beanstalk by Lori Stanley Roelveld

unnamed-2
About the book:

Jesus and the Beanstalk: Overcoming Your Giants and Living a Fruitful Life (Abingdon Press, September 2016)

What if a fairy tale and ten Bible verses could free you to live an effective, fruitful life in Christ?

We live in unsettling, challenging times. Everywhere we look, we see giant problems: giant obstacles to sharing faith, giant barriers to peaceful lives, giant strongholds of fear. But what if you knew eight small secrets to unlocking a strength big enough to overcome whatever obstacle life may bring?

Using allegory and a bit of humor, Jesus and the Beanstalkexplores a passage in 2 Peter 1 to uncover eight truths that will help you unleash a larger-than-life faith:

-Faith
-Goodness
-Knowledge
-Self-control
-Perseverance
-Godliness
-Affection for others
-Love

In this creative, refreshing perspective on spiritual growth, you will discover an unyielding strength when you tap the power of a God who is stronger than any beanstalk and bigger than your biggest giants.

Purchase a copy: http://bit.ly/2dcnopJ

About the author:
 
 

Lori Stanley Roeleveld is the author of Running from a Crazy Man (and other adventures traveling with Jesus) and Red Pen Redemption. Her blog, LoriRoeleveld.com, was voted Top 100 Christian Blogs by RedeemingGod.com and has enjoyed over 1.5 million views. Lori lives in Hope Valley, RI.

My Turn:

I was so hopeful with this book. So very, very hopeful.
Like you, and the rest of the world, I have giants. Giants that need to be slain. Giants I’m powerless against. 
And that’s the whole point. I’m powerless. But Jesus is powerful! And He is the giant-slayer. 
If this book had just said that very thing it would have been a GREAT book! I would be singing it’s praises. But it fell flat with me.  
I felt as if the author was telling me to just be better at loving Jesus, produce in myself more faith. If I just DID more, the giants would be killed by MY OWN sword. But that’s isn’t the way it works! 
What works is abiding in Jesus, allowing His life to take over my deadness and my giants, submitting to His leadership, standing firm IN Him, and then I can watch those giants fall. Not because I’m strong because I’m not, but because He is strong! Apart from Him I can do nothing!

The author said a few times that we are small. But we aren’t!  We are NOT small, we ARE God’s children, infused with His Spirit. And that makes us BIG and Dangerous

We only feel small when we focus on self and those we consider giants.
I thought the author used a lot of suppositions that might or might not be true.
I did like the amount of Scripture the author used in the book. I love love love it when I can read for myself the very verses the author is quoting.
I love this line (and I really wish the sentiment was in the whole book!!)

“Longing for transformation we focus on the flesh instead of the Spirit, attempting to accomplish the work ourselves rather than submit to Christ.”

I give the book 3 out of 5 turning pages. 
I received a free copy of this book from LitFuse for the purpose of review.

Leave a Reply

