Brokenhearted Comfort

In Psalm 147:3 the word translated “binds up” means literally to wrap/bind one thing with another. And the word “wounds” refers to emotional suffering. In this verse, the emotional suffering and wounds from it are bound by the Lord. But what does He bind them with? Himself!
The word translated “brokenhearted” means “destroyed or crushed”. We all have people and circumstances that come into our lives intent on destroying and crushing our heart. But He is our Healer of our crushed hearts.
When we are brokenhearted and wounded emotionally the Lord Himself binds us to Himself for our healing. He truly is Jehovah-Rapha and the Balm in Gilead.
It is truly a foolish person who resists this binding and pushes away from His healing.
But why does He do this?
The obvious answer is Love.
The not so obvious answer is found in 2 Corinthians 1:3-6. We find in verse 4 that He comforts (and here I’m taking the liberty of using the word “heals” in place of comfort) us in all our afflictions, all those things that destroy our hearts, He heals. So we can take that comfort and healing and share it with another who is suffering.
He is still the One who heals. He is the One who binds us to Himself for healing. But He uses us in our suffering to show others that He heals and He comforts.
I can comfort someone. But I can’t heal them. I can point them to the One true Healer though.
In this I am fulfilling 1 Peter 4:10, “As each one has received a special gift (Divine gratuity), employ (deacon) it in serving (deaconing) one another as good stewards of the manifold grace (JOY) of God.”
(All Scripture is taken from the New American Standard Bible)
4 thoughts on “Brokenhearted Comfort

  1. ncie thoughts, but how do you get over being wounded so deeply you hae lost all your confidence, dignity, lose what little self esteem you had, and just want to check out of all activities, so that you do not offend someone, or have them judge you by what you are saying or believe?

    ________________________________

    • I have been where you are. very recently. The wanting to hide under the bed and not come out until Jesus comes again kind of pain. A year ago, I was on the verge of giving up – the “maybe I could just go to a hospital for a while, and let people take care of me because I’m losing it” kind of giving up. And then I had the thought: “But we have the mind of Christ.” In that moment, I remembered Whose I was. It has been a long year, but God has provided His Word and His people to remind me of His love. My confidence and peace and joy come from Jesus. He truly is enough. When my eyes are on Jesus, it is easier to love and easier to not be worried about offending, because the love of Christ covers our failures. His strength becomes mine. His Words speak Truth that counteracts lies that I have believed. I will be praying for you.

    • That is when I willfully say, “Lord, I choose to forgive xyz for abc. I put this under Your blood and I nail it to Your cross. Lord, I now walk away in freedom.” Then every time I find myself thinking on it again, I remind myself that it was forgiven.
      Let Jesus bind you with and to Himself. Lean into Him and give Him all your hurts and anger. He will heal it! I promise.

Leave a Reply

