Posted in Book Reviews, Jesus, Life as it happens.

Know The Word Study Bible {A Review}

Diving deeper into God’s Word can be easy and rewarding if you break it down book by book, verse by verse, or topic by topic with the new KJV Know The Word Study Bible by Thomas Nelson. The book-by-book series of notes leads you through the main points of each book of the Bible. The verse-by-verse notes help you to dig deeper into God’s Word. The topic-by-topic articles, which cover 21 theological topics, guide you through a series of insightful notes and give you a thorough biblical understanding of each topic. With the beautiful and timeless text of the KJV translation, the KJV Know the Word Study Bible offers you choices of how to study Scripture and grow in your relationship with Christ.

This fall, become a regular student of the Bible and enter to win the Kindle Fire giveaway!

One grand prize winner will receive:

  • A copy of the KJV Know The Word Study Bible
  • A Kindle Fire 7
  • A Kindle Fire case (winner’s choice)

Enter today by clicking the icon below, but hurry! The giveaway ends on October 31. The winner will be announced November 1 on the Litfuse blog.

My Thoughts:
First things first. The dust cover has the look of aged parchment with a black band around it near the bottom. It’s beautiful. Under the dust cover it is a medium grey cloth with gold letters emblazoned on the front and the spine.
I love that it has a presentation page. Most Bibles now don’t have this and I think it’s a necessary page. Especially if it was a gift.
It gives a list of the Topic-By-Topic Articles. These are broken down into major topics, like Trinity, Love, Obedience, Sanctification, and many others.
Each book of the Bible has a brief summary of the book and a section on how-to study that particular book.
There are also different devotionals scattered throughout on various topics, all are designed to draw the reader in and deepen their understanding of the passage given.
This Bible does not have center-column references, but does have study notes at the bottom of the page.
What I don’t Like:
I always hate to say what I don’t like about a Bible because it is a Bible. But here goes.
The font is small! My eyes are not the best, but even with new prescription lenses I would not be able to read this in church as the font is just too small.
It’s a heavy Bible also. Definitely not your sword drill type.  I know as a general rule hardbacks are heavier than leather or cloth back so probably in a leather cover this Bible would not be near so heavy.
Now this is going to sound very strange because I requested this Bible to review and I knew it was a study Bible. I’m not fond of the notes on the pages. I’d rather dig into the Word for deeper understanding but not everyone is like me. And I found no issues with the notes I read. (Obviously I did not read all of them.) What I would like to see is wider margins (which would of course increase the size of the Bible) to give the reader more room to write their own notes.
What I Like:
The cover is simply beautiful! The dust cover is made to look like parchment and has a black band across the lower portion. Under the dust cover the hardback is covered with a medium grey cloth. On the cover and the spine the words are in gold.
The extensive concordance at the back of the Bible! Wow! I love that!!
I love that the first time I opened the Bible the pages did not stick together. This is probably due to the hardback, but I’m a fan of that!
Again, this will sound weird but I liked the notes feature because not everyone is like me. Some people use them so having them available is a great thing!
***I received a free copy of this Bible from Litfuse for the purpose of review. All opinions are my own.***

 

Author:

Child of the Most High God, Wife, Home-schooling Momma of 2. I love Jesus, people and coffee. I am the somewhat eternal optimist viewing the coffee cup as half nothing, it's full...even when I'm chewing the grounds at the bottom.

Leave a Reply

